Nandakumar Marar

Sri Lankan Sadaruwan Abeypitiyage wins men’s 100m

England’s Shaunna Thompson takes gold in the women’s event

PUNE: Dhiraj Mishra suffered pangs of anxiety before leaping to take the gold in men’s triple jump at the 3rd Commonwealth Youth Games.

The first jump of 15.42m kept the experienced Indian athlete in the hunt for first place. He had a minor scare when England’s Benjamin Williams came up with 15.41 on the fifth attempt. The Englishman, however, could not catch up with the leader on the sixth leap.

“I thought the title may slip away when Williams came so close. Then it came to a point that I wanted the gold to be mine, but had to wait till his last try.”

This Krida Prabodini jumper’s eagerness to assert himself against the strong field saw him lose a little rhythm after the first leap. He was a relieved champion in the end.

Sadaruwan Abeypitiyage extended Sri Lanka’s tradition in the sprints, setting a Games record 10.43 seconds to win the men’s 100m ahead of athletes from England, Australia and Nigeria.

Shaunna Thompson’s elegance when shifting gears made for a visual delight, cruising to victory in women’s 100m dash (11.46s).

India’s hammer throwers Narayan Chandrodaya and Ijaj Ahmed took the silver and bronze behind England’s Peter Smith who had a 68.38m fifth throw till the end. Narayan’s second throw (67.38m) and Ijaj’s 64.97m on the sixth attempt fetched the two Indians the next two positions.

Gayathri Govindharaj challenged Barbados hurdler Kierre Beckles all the way to the tape, but had to settle for the silver (14.00s).

M.V. Poovamma ran a calculated race to stagger into second place in the 400m semifinals, taking the initiative at the halfway mark and striding in at 55.10 seconds to qualify for the final.

England’s Shelayna Oskan, running in lane seven, won the heat in 54.90s without stretching herself. Rachel Nachula clocked the best time of 54.74s in the event.

The women’s pole vault saw England’s Jade Ive break into a dance of ecstasy after soaring to a high of 4.05m in women’s pole vault.

The results (all finals):

Men: Hammer: 1. Peter Smith (Eng) 68.38m, 2. Narayan Chandrodaya (Ind) 67.38m, 3.Ejaj Ahmed (Ind) 64.97;

Triple jump: 1. Dhiraj Mishra (Ind) 15.42m, 2. Benjamin Williams (Eng) 15.41m, 3. Rakola Motlhatlhego (SA) 15.20m.

100m: 1. Sadaruwan Abeypitiyage (Sri) 10.43s, 2. Suwalbou Sanneh (Gam) 10.51s, 3. Jason Rogers (Skn) 10.52s.

Women: Javelin: 1. Bianca Maurer (Aus) 49.87m, 2. Philippa Charlesworth (NZ) 46.14m, 3. Poonam Rani (Ind) 44.25m;

100m: 1. Shaunna Thompson (Eng) 11.45s, 2. Eloise Graf (Aus) 11.80s, 3. Lauren O’Sullivan (Aus) 11.81s. 400m: 1. Sheayna Oskan (Eng) 54.90s, 2. M V Poovamma (Ind) 55.10s, 3. Rebecca Nachula (Zam) 55.31s.

100m hurdles: 1. Kierre Beckles (Bar) 13.88s, 2. Gayathri Govindharaj (Ind) 14.00s, 3. Brianna Beahan (Aus) 14.08s;

Pole vault: 1. Jade Ive (Eng) 4.05m, 2. Ariane Beaumont (Can) 3.90m, 3. Abigail Haywood (Eng) 3.80m;

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper