Devender clinched the under-12 and 14 titles in the CDTA State-level junior tennis tournament at the Perks Tennis Centre here on Sunday.

The results (final): Children: U-10: V.J. Adharsh bt Arun Venkat Guruswamy 6-1. U-12: Devender bt S. Saran 7-1. Boys: U-14: Devender bt Kavin Kumar 7-3. U-16: Elan Elangovan bt Nihal Mathew 7-3.

Anand is champion

J. Anand (40 pts) edged out S.A. Sridhar (40 pts) on a better second half score to emerge the winner in the 0-18 category in the Fortune JC Trophy golf tournament, played on Stableford singles format, at the Coimbatore Golf Club course on Sunday.

The results: Nett: Category 0-18: 1. J. Anand 40 pts (better second half); 2. S.A. Sridhar 40. 19-30: 1. Kondaswamy Naidu 34; 2. B. Jagan Mohan 33. Gross: 1. S. Sidhartha 36 pts; 2. P.R. Ramakrishnan 30.

Big win for CFCC

Coimbatore Friends CC posted a 10-wicket win over R.S. Puram CC in the TNCA-CDCA third division league on Sunday.

The scores: III div.: R.S. Puram 89 in 26.2 overs (A. Avinash four for 21) lost to Coimbatore Friends 92 for no loss in 12.3 overs (A. Avinash 54 not out, A. Vignesh 31 not out). Tirupur 103 in 49 overs (Bharathi Kannan three for 9, Sittarasan three for 18, Arokiadass three for 15) lost to Miracle 105 for four in 31 overs (Francis Nelson 45).

IV div.: Adithya 117 in 37.2 overs (D. Srinivasan three for 35) bt Rainbow Wizards 112 in 29.5 overs (D. Srinivasan 54 not out, I. Safia Ahamed three for 21).

Sameer, Hamanti shine

At Namakkal, S. Sameer (four for 15) and T. Hamanti Kumar (four for 37) played their part as Challengers CC scored a two-run win over Great Boys CC in the TNCA-DCAN second division league on Sunday.

The scores: Challengers 84 in 25.4 overs (S. Kodiswaran three for 17) bt Great Boys 82 in 34.4 overs (T. Hamanti Kumar four for 37, S. Sameer four for 15).

ICRC (Sankari West) 67 in 31 overs (Senthil Raja four for 16, Mangainathan three for 7) lost to LMCC 68 for seven in 22.2 overs (S. Venkatraman four for 18).

Dharshan, James sizzle

K. Dharshan’s 162 (9x6, 13x4) and medium-pacer F. James’ five for 24 helped Youngstars CC score a thumping 256-run win over Sterling Biotech CC in the NDCA-HPF Staff Club rolling trophy tournament at the HPF grounds in Udhagamandalam on Monday.

The scores: Youngstars CC 367 for nine in 40 overs (K. Dharshan 162, R. Charles 64, A. Noorudeen three for 51) bt Sterling Biotech CC 91 (F. James five for 24).

Ganesh scalps five

A fine spell of five for 11 by Ganesh helped Pearl City CC thrash Sealines CC by 123 runs in the TNCA-TDCA third division league in Tuticorin on Sunday.

The scores: II Division: Seconds ‘B’ 158 for seven in 40 overs (Maheshwaran 35, Ramesh 25) bt TRC ‘A’ 155 in 36.3 overs (Sundara Sethupathi Raja 51, Ramkumar 29, Ramachandran 25 n.o., Doss four for 28). III Division: Pearl City 199 in 35.2 overs (Rajesh 64, Mahesh 63, Mani five for 23) bt Sealines 76 in 19.3 overs (Ganesh five for 11).

Royal Kings posts win

Royal Kings registered a narrow eight-run win over Mars CC in a second division encounter of the TNCA-TDCA league in Tirunelveli on Sunday.

The scores: II div.: Koodangulam Power Project 116 for seven in 20 overs (T. Alagesan 28) bt Krishna Eleven Star 110 in 19.5 overs (I. Raja 35, S. Saravanakumar three for 14).

Thyagarajanagar 123 for seven in 20 overs (N. Praveen 58, E. Palani three for 13) lost to Prabhakaran 124 for seven in 15.5 overs (S. Manikandan 28, M. Utharalingam four for 21).

Sevenstar 199 for five in 20 overs (P. Selvam 63) bt LPSC 81 for nine in 15.3 overs (S. Antony 28, C. Paulraj three for nine, S. Stanpaul three for 12).

Royal Kings 93 for eight in 20 overs (K. Younis four for 12) bt Mars 85 in 19.5 overs (V. Mahalingam three for 19).

VVD 226 for five in 20 overs (S. Syed Kader Shah 72 n.o., M. Feroz 57) bt Starkings 54 in 16.2 overs (G. Sheikh three for two).

Jayesh is champion

M. Jayesh of Chennai tallied nine points for the title in the second Legends Fide-rated (below 2100) chess tournament at the Rotary Hall in Gandhinagar in Tirupur on Monday.

In the crucial final round, the 13-year-old scored a comfortable 23-move win over Adith for the title. Meanwhile, joint leader S.S. Manigandan surprisingly went down to M. Eashwar of PSNA College. Both Eashwar and C.S. Rajesh were tied with 8.5 points apiece. But, the latter edged out the former on a better tie-break score for the second spot.

Final standing (Top four only): 1. M. Jayesh (TN) 9; 2. C.S. Rajesh (TN) 8.5 (61.5); 3. M. Eashwar (TN) 8.5 (55.5); 4. S.S. Manigandan (PSNA) 8.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper