NEW DELHI: Delhi will meet Madhya Pradesh in the inaugural match of the National sub-junior (under-16) football championship to be played at Haldwani, Uttrakhand from September 16 to October 7.

In the other matches on the opening day, Kerala takes on Chhattishgarh and Karnataka faces Himachal Pradesh.

Twenty-six teams have been divided into eight clusters. After the league matches, one team from each cluster will move into the quarterfinals.

The groups: Cluster I: Uttaranchal, Pondicherry and Gujarat.

Cluster II: West Bengal, Chandigarh and Tripura.

Cluster III: Karnataka, Himachal Pradesh and Meghalaya.

Cluster IV: Tamil Nadu, Bihar and Uttar Pradesh.

Cluster V: Madhya Pradesh, Delhi, Kerala and Chhattisgarh.

Cluster VI: Manipur, Maharashtra, Haryana and Jharkhand.

Cluster VII: Goa, Assam and Jammu & Kashmir.

Cluster VIII: Mizoram, Orissa and Punjab. — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper