SIVAGANGA: Four goals, including a hat-trick by David, helped Chennai thrash Kanyakumari 6-1 and enter the semifinals of the 28th Tamil Nadu State junior inter-district football championship conducted by Star Muslim FC at Ilayankudi, near here, on Monday. The other goals were scored by Rajesh Kumar and Bhaskar for Chennai. Shinu scored the only goal for Kanyakumari.

Kanchipuram also entered the semifinals with an emphatic 4-1 win over Thanjavur. Thanjavur took the lead in the 21st minute with a goal by Raja. Nelson found the equaliser in the 28th minute and from then on Kanchipuram dictated terms. It added three more goals through Sivakumar (47th), Mahesh (66th and 74th).

Bharathi scores winner

A 45th minute goal by Guruchithra Shanmuga Bharathi helped Rajeev Gandhi Hockey Club, Kovilpatti, defeat YMCA College of Physical Education, Chennai, in the inaugural match of the Mark Devasahayam Memorial Trophy State-level hockey tournament conducted jointly by Mathew Hockey Club and SDAT in Tirunelveli on Monday.

In another match, Liverpool Hockey Club, Muttom beat Deenan Hockey Club, Tuticorin 2-0. Jenito and Biju scored.

Three wins for St. Peter's

St. Peter's CC, Kodaikanal, registered three wins during the Pongal holidays, including a 124-run victory over Buds Hindu Vidyalaya thanks to an unbeaten century by K. Vinoth Kumar on Monday, in the Indian Bank-Dindigul DCA first division league here.

The scores: St. Peter's CC 226 in 33. 2 overs (K. Vinoth Kumar 100 not out, A. Suresh four for 37) bt Buds Hindu Vidyalaya CC 102 in 24.2 overs.

St. Peter's CC 397 for six in 48 overs (S. John Lesly 90 not out, K. Sunderarajan 133) bt All Rounders CC 168 in 29.3 overs (Sethupathy 72).

St. Peter's CC 310 for seven in 45 overs (M. Sheik Abdullah 86, B. Gopi 110) bt Majestic Cubs CC 112 in 33 overs (B. Gopi four for 14).

Reserve Line SC wins

Reserve Line Sports Club, Madurai, won the Zion Trophy defeating Liberation Hockey Club, Dindigul, through Kathiravan's goal in the men's final of the State-level hockey tournament in Dindigul on Monday. Earlier in the semifinals, Reserve Line beat PSNA College of Engineering, Dindigul, 4-3 via tiebreaker while Liberation HC beat St. Mary's HC 3-0.

In the women's final, St. Ignatius Convent, Tirunelveli, beat Tiruchi XI 3-0. Subha, Anitha and Jiji scored.

SRTM advances

Shri Renuga Textile Mills, Theni, (SRTM) entered the semifinal round robin league of the 22nd annual Pon-Volley K. Seethaiammal Memorial Trophy State-level volleyball tournament conducted by Vadugapatti Youth Sports Club defeating host's A team 25-22, 25-20 at Vadugapatti, near here, on Monday.

The results (quarterfinals): PSNA College of Engg bt Melmangalam VBC 25-15, 25-10; Shri Renuga Textile Mills bt VYSC 'A' 25-22, 25-20; Temple City Club, Madurai bt VYSC 'B' 25-10, 25-12; Theni District Police bt Andipatti VBC 25-7, 25-15.

SAI SH in final

SAI Sports Hostel (Salem) and Sethu Institute of Technology (SIT), Kariapatti, with two wins each in the semifinal round-robin league here on Monday, will clash for the title in the State-level basketball tournament

The results (league): SIT, Kariapatti 56 (Dominic Joe 15, Muthukumar 10) bt Jazz BC, Pattiveeranpatti 35 (Suresh 12, Mayilvaganan 12); SAI Sports Hostel, Salem 72 (Anbukumar 23, Vinodh 18, Parthiban 12) bt Phoenix BC, Madurai 51 (Bose 17, Jaiganesh 14); SIT 33 (Dominic Joe 10, Devendra Pandian 10) bt Phoenix BC 30 (Dayanithi 10); SAI Sports Hostel 60 (Anbukumar 22, Vinodh 18) bt Jazz BC 42 (Mohamed Ibrahim 15, Ramesh Babu 14).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper