Danghi-Shashi Kumar duo wins 50m lightweight gold

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
Sprinting home:Andhra Pradesh's Shashi Kumar (in the front) and S. S. Dangi won the lightweight men's double scull gold.— PHOTO: G. RAMAKRISHNA
Sprinting home:Andhra Pradesh's Shashi Kumar (in the front) and S. S. Dangi won the lightweight men's double scull gold.— PHOTO: G. RAMAKRISHNA

S.S. Danghi and Shashi Kumar of Andhra Pradesh won the 500m light weight men's double scull gold clocked in 1:32.10 seconds at the 31st Open National rowing championship, which concluded at the Hussain Sagar Lake, here on Sunday.

This was the maiden gold in senior Nationals for the pair of Danghi and Shashi, who are quite familiar with the place as they have been training here for the past four years. Vikas Singh and Vikram Singh of Services (1:32.51) and Anil Kumar and Karambir Singh of Delhi (1:33.95) finished second and third respectively.

Bronze-medallist at the 2010 Asian Games, Pratima Puhana and Sanjukta Dung Dung of Orissa, lived up to their billing to take home the women's coxless pair event in an exciting race, clocking 1:48.82. A fighting Nitya Joseph and Anjali Raj of Kerala finished a close second in 1:49.90, while A. Surbala Devi and Kh. Sunita Devi of Manipur settled for the bronze (1:58.09). For Pratima, it was her second gold as she was part of the Orissa women's coxless four team which clinched the honours earlier.

Brig. K.P.S. Deo, President, Asian Rowing Federation, and Col. C.P.S. Deo, out-going president, Rowing Federation of India, gave away the prizes.

The results (all finals): Men: Coxless pair: 1. Kapil Sharma & Davinder Singh (SSCB) 1:29.83; 2. Jagtar Singh & Rampal (Utk); 3. Maninder Singh & Md. Azad (CERA) and Tejesh Shinde & Gurpreet Singh (Mah). Single scull: 1. G. Mahesh (Man) 1:40.32; 2. Satyawan (CERA); 3. Anuj Kumar Singh (AP). Light-weight double scull: 1. S.S. Dangi & Shashi Kumar (AP) 1:32.10; 2. Vikas Singh & Vikram Singh (SSCB); 3. Anil Kumar & Karambir Singh (Del). Coxless four: 1. SSCB (Rajesh Kumar, Munesh Kumar, Anil Kumar, Ranjit Singh) 1:23.35; 2. Uttarakhand (Shahib Singh, Bikker Singh, Jagtar Singh, Rampal); 3. CERA (Yasin Khan, Vikal Sarve, P. Lava Kumar, Naveen Kumar).

500m: Women: Double scull: 1. Ch. Priya Devi & Th. Chaoba Devi (Man) 1:42.00; 2. Thara Kurian & Dittymol Varghese (Ker); 3. M. Amusana Devi & Meena Madhuri Toppo (Ori). Coxless pair: 1. Pratima Puhana & Sanjukta Dung Dung (Ori) 1:48.82; 2. Nitya Joseph & Anjali Raj (Ker); 3. A. Surbala Devi & Kh. Sunita Devi (Man). Single scull: 1. N. Laxmi Devi (Man) 1:56.80; 2. Dittymol Varghese (Ker); 3. Monalisa Chanu (MP). Coxless four: 1. Orissa (Mamata Jena, Pratima Puhana, Ashmita Kujur, Alma Lakra) 1:44.49; 2. Kerala (K.S. Shanimol, Tinu Chacko, M.T. Nimmy, Chippy Kurian); 3. Manipur (S. Zingraphy, Kh. Sunita Devi, A. Surbala Devi, Kh. Debala Devi).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

New Zealand clinches series

New Zealand beat Pakistan by 68 runs in the fifth and final day-night One-Day International here on Friday, taking the five-match series... »