Amar Aiyamma's twin-strike led BPCL to an overwhelming 5-1 win over Maratha Light Infantry (MLI) in a second phase match of the Ozonegroup State Super Division hockey league championship here on Sunday.

Hari Prasad opened BPCL's account in the 16th minute before Aiyamma scored on either side of half time, sandwiching Karamdeep Singh's 32nd minute effort.

Gurpreet Singh netted his side's fifth in the 46th minute, shortly before Vijay Pantagle grabbed a consolation for MLI.

In the day's other match, Army Green posted a 4-2 win over ASC.

The results: BPCL 5 (Hari Prasad 16, Amar Aiyamma 20, 40, Karamdeep Singh 32, Gurpreet Singh 46) bt MLI 1 (Vijay Pantagle 52).

Army Green 4 (Rome 19, 30, Heera Singh 20, Prabhakar 22) bt ASC 2 (K.P. Deepu 44, Reva Bengra 69).

BEML keeps title

Inspired play by Supradeep (22) and Ramakantha Rao (15) helped BEML Ltd (Mysore) to register a 78-63 win over Rangers SC in its final league tie in the men's section and retain the title in the Mysore District Basketball Association's district league 2011 held at Mysore on Sunday.

Rajendra (17) and Moshin Khan played well for Rangers SC by scoring 15 points.

The results: Men: BEML Ltd (Mysore) 78 (Supradeep 22, Ramakanth Rao 15) bt Rangers 63 (Rajendra 17, Moshin Khan 15).

High school boys: Sadvidya 51 (Jeetender Singh 43) bt St. Joseph's State 43 (Damien 13).

High school girls: St. Joseph's State 20 (K.S. Meghana 18) bt Pushkarni 4.

Promising Players: High school boys: Jeetender Singh (Sadvidya HS) and High school girls: K.S. Meghana (St. Josephs' State) .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper