Colombo sweeps overall awards

Sports Reporter
print   ·   T  T  
Rowers from St. Thomas College and Bishop's College, both of Colombo, pose with the overall trophies. — Photo: M. Karunakaran
Rowers from St. Thomas College and Bishop's College, both of Colombo, pose with the overall trophies. — Photo: M. Karunakaran

Colombo swept the overall awards on the final day of the Unifi Capital-ASRA Regatta here on Saturday, with St. Thomas College taking the senior and junior boys' championships and Bishop's College both the girls' championships.

St. Thomas won three gold medals, of which school captain Sajeev de Silva captured two — in the single sculls and coxed fours (seniors) — and a bronze. Bishop's, meanwhile, bagged two gold and two bronze medals.

The two schools displayed a splendid level of camaraderie throughout, with the girls from Bishop's especially vocal as they cheered on St. Thomas's coxless fours crew to a tight victory over X, Y, with frenetic chants of “Go Thora Go!”

When asked what Thora meant, a parent from St. Thomas said that it was the school's traditional nickname, but confessed he had no idea what it meant. “God only knows,” he said. “Or let's put it this way — only Thora knows.”

Colombo might have swept the big trophies, but Karachi wasn't far behind in terms of medals won, with Karachi Grammar School, Lyceum School, Centre for Advanced Studies and Habib Public School together accumulating two gold, five silver and two bronze medals.

Of the schools from Chennai, Academy for Personalised Learning took home the biggest medal haul — a gold and two silver.

The results (final standings): Boys: Over-15: Single sculls: 1. Sajeev de Silva (St. Thomas, Colombo), 2. S. Aneesh (SDVBHSS, Kerala), 3. Jay Prakash Singh (KHS, Kolkata); Double sculls: 1. Azeem & Musad (Lyceum, Karachi), 2. Karn Rao & Shivendra (Vidya Mandir, Chennai), 3. Shelan de Livera & Chamal Jayanetti (St. Thomas, Colombo); Coxed fours: 1. St. Thomas, Colombo, 2. LVHS, Kolkata, 3. St. Thomas ‘B', Colombo.

Under-15: Single sculls: Joshua (Mile Marker, Bangalore), 2. Inan Diwan (APL, Chennai), 3. Midhul G. Mohan (SNDPHSS, Kerala); Double sculls: 1. Jayentu Sardar & Soham Pal (KI, Kolkata), 2. Manucher Munavar & Sameer Malik (CAS, Karachi), 3. Ali Nasir Rehmani and Mirza Ali Baig (HPS, Karachi); Coxed fours: 1. St. Thomas, Colombo, 2. HPS, Karachi.

Girls: Over-15: Single sculls: 1. Iha Diwan (APL, Chennai), 2. Sankavi Puhazhendi (DAV, Chennai), 3. Zaara Khadija Abbas (Lyceum, Karachi); Double sculls: 1. A. Ashwani & Anjaly Raj (GVHSS, Kerala), 2. Iha Diwan & Sanjana Sridhar (APL, Chennai), 3. Shubhangi Jagzap & Rupali Tambe (KTHM, Nasik); Coxed fours: 1. Bishop's College, Colombo, 2. KTHM, Nasik, 3. Bishop's ‘A', Colombo.

Under-15: Single sculls: 1. Tarunikha Pratap (Chettinad, Chennai), 2. Mashal Tariq Khan (KGS ‘A', Karachi), 3. Hakum Faiz (KGS ‘B', Karachi); Double sculls: Mashal Tariq Khan & Salma Arif (KGS, Karachi), 2. Fatima Dossaini & Umrat Khan (CAS, Karachi), 3. Maneka David & Tulasi Elapata (Bishop's, Colombo); Coxed fours: 1. Bishop's ‘A', 2. CAS, Karachi, 3. AMMHSS, Chennai .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Anand beats Adams, in second spot

Viswanathan Anand crashed through the defences of Michael Adams of England to jump to the second spot in the Shamkir Chess 2015 tournamen... »