Coimbatore: Skipper Shoiab narrowly missed a double ton, but his knock helped host Coimbatore DCA score an innings and 206-run win over Tuticorin DCA in a two-day TNCA Sumeru Soft inter-district under-17 (second stage) cricket match for the P.R. Thevar Trophy here on Tuesday.

The victory also ensured the home team a place in the quarterfinal.

Overnight 146 for four, the host continued to make merry. Shoiab, who was unbeaten on 90, had the visiting bowlers at his mercy.

Just when he looked good to reach a double hundred, Jagan, the visiting skipper, enticed him with a well tossed-up delivery, which Shoiab scooped into the safe hands of Ram Kumar at short mid-off. Soon, Coimbatore declared its innings at 319 for seven.

Left-arm spinner Aushik Srinivasan brought further cheer to the home crowd with a six-wicket haul that saw Tuticorin collapse at 74 in its second essay.

Meanwhile, skipper Kevin Sukumar returned with match figures of eight for 25 as Kancheepuram DCA defeated host Erode by an innings and 133 runs in Erode on Tuesday.

Kancheepuram, after scoring 295 in its first essay, bowled out Erode for 29 and 133 for an emphatic win and a place in the quarterfinal.

Elsewhere, V. Venkatvasan made 91 as host Tiruvallur took a huge first innings lead over Thiruvannamalai to enter the quarterfinal in Chennai.

The scores: At Coimbatore: Tuticorin DCA 39 and 74 (Aushik Srinivasan six for 31, Gautham three for 16) lost to Coimbatore DCA 319 for seven decl. in 106.1 overs (Mohammed Shoiab 199).

At Erode: Kancheepuram 295 bt Erode 29 (Kevin Sukumar four for one) and 133 (Kevin Sukumar four for 24, Vijay Shankar three for 49).

At Chennai: Thiruvannamalai 133 in 52.5 overs (S. Nawaz 39, B. Aparajith three for 48, Panchapakesan three for 25) and 22 for one in four overs drew with Thiruvallur 412 in 129.3 overs (V. Venkatvasan 91, G. Dinesh 48, Sandeep Kumar 31, Panchapakesan 58, B. Aparajith 59, Mukundan 46, Nazzer three for 96).

At Theni: Theni 49 and 100 in 33 overs (I. Vijay 34, Gautham three for 20, Adhavan four for 26) lost to Vellore 193 in 73.5 overs (Thabaarak Baik 68, Rohit 41, I. Vijay seven for 76).

At Thanjavur: Thanjavur 155 in 70.5 overs (R. Solaikannan 63, R. Amith Singh four for 32) and 125 for five (R. Rajkumar 60, R. Balaji 44) vs Salem 283 in 68 overs (B.M. Renga Prasad 82, R. Pradeep Kumar 71, Saravanan 51, Ramesh Pandi four for 58, R. Solaikannan three for 57). Salem won on first innings lead.

At Tiruvarur: Sivaganga 173 in 63.3 overs (Somasundaram 47, Naseer Ali four for 28) vs. Tiruvarur 99 for four in 27.1 overs, at close on opening day (Velmurugan 36 not out, Vinod 30).

Retains title

At Madurai, Sourashtra College retained the title for the fifth successive year defeating its citymate American College 3-2 in the last match of the four-team league in the Madurai Kamaraj University Champion Trophy inter-collegiate table tennis tournament here on Monday.

Sourashtra College, with an all-win record in the league emerged champion and lifted the Mepco Schlenk Trophy.

American College, which lost only to Sourashtra College, finished runner-up.

The results (league):

Sourashtra College bt American 3-2 (Aravind lost to Sivakumar 11-6, 11-7, 11-4; Saravanan bt Ravi 11-5, 11-5, 11-7; Kumaran lost to Vignesh 5-11, 11-8, 11-4, 11-7; Saravanan bt Sivakumar 11-9, 5-11, 11-2, 11-6; Aravind bt Ravi 11-6, 11-3, 11-9).

Earlier results:

Sourashtra bt Subbulakshmi Lakshmipathy College of Science 3-0; bt Madura College 3-0; Amerian bt Madura 3-2; Madura bt S.L. 3-2.

Five in lead

At Palani, five players, including third seed C. Natarajan of I.C.F. and 13-year-old Asian gold medallist S. Nitin of Salem, who split the point with Natarajan, shared the lead with 3.5 points each at the end of the fourth round in the second annual FIDE-rated all-India Open chess tournament on Tuesday

The tournament is conducted by V.P.M. Trust and Jothi Academy.

Important results (fourth round): C. Natarajan (3.5) drew with S. Nitin (3.5); Ram S. Krishnan (3.5) bt R. Preetham Sharma (2.5); Lakshmi Narayanan (2.5) lost to P. Shyam Nikil (3.5); V.M. Rajeev (2.5) lost to Syed Anwar Shazuli (3.5); R. Pounraj (2.5) drew with H. Venkatesh (3) R. Kannan (2) lost to P. Sri Kumar (3); Manikanda Swamy (3) bt J.B. Vigneshwara (2); K. Chakravarti (3) bt B. Ahamed Anees (2); R.S. Shantosbaala (2) lost to N. Lokesh (3); J. Mohana Priya (3) bt T.V. Subramaian (2).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper