The 16 non-I-League clubs playing in the premier division of the Calcutta Football League voiced their dissatisfaction at the way the tournament is being run by the state body, Indian Football Association (IFA). The clubs, which excluded local giants like East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, and Prayag United SC, have a formed a forum and asked the IFA to run the 114-year-old tournament more professionally and not change the schedule frequently.

Addressed by Ajit Banerjee, President, Kalighat Milan Sangha, the forum asked IFA to finish the present tournament by January 31, 2013, and asked the state body to revert to the traditional system of round-robin format.

Among the other demands put forth by the forum was asking the IFA to ensure live telecast of the matches and scheduling the matches mostly in the City.

The IFA has sought a meeting with the forum to discuss their problems.

Loreto House, DPS win

Loreto House in the girls’ section and DPS Megacity in the boys’ side won the BFI-IMG Reliance school basketball league at the WBBA courts on Thursday.

The results: Super League: Boys: Khalsa HS 27 (Krishna Barua 8) bt St. Anthony HS 18 (Aloke Karkera 6); La Martiniere for Boys 34 (Raghav Sehgal 23) bt Bharatiya Vidya Bhawan 23 (Archit Singh 14); DPS (Megacity) 37 (Jatin Agarwal 22) bt Burdwan MHS 11 (Utsav Das 9). Girls: Loreto House 26 (Vidhi Bansal 13, Ayesha Guha Thakurta 10) bt Modern HS 15 (Sangita Singh 5).

Burdwan, Kalyani in semifinals

Burdwan University and Kalyani University reached the semifinals after winning their respective quarterfinal matches of the CAB inter-University Twenty20 cricket at Jalpaiguri on Thursday.

The scores: Kalyani 140 for eight wickets in 20 overs (Prosenjit Roy 34, Tanmoy Pramanik 30) bt Biswa Bharati 108 for eight in 20 overs (Tanujit Acharjee two for 14); Burdwan 162 for five wickets in 20 overs (Soumyajit Karmakar 87, Arnab Ghosh 31) bt Jadavpur 90 for five wickets in 20 overs (Akash Basu 42). — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper