The Bengal Olympic Association’s (BOA) much-awaited annual general meeting and elections on Sunday turned out to be a damp squib with the ruling group’s candidates throwing in the towel fearing a complete rout.

With the support of a brute majority, Ajit Banerjee and his group will rule the BOA for the next four years. The president, who is the older brother of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, and his younger brother Swapan Banerjee, who was elected as one of the joint secretaries, are expected to have a large say in matters related to sports in Bengal.

Ajit owns the second division I-League football side Kalighat Milan Sangha and Swapan is the secretary of the state boxing association.

The AGM lasted less than an hour. Later speaking to the media, Ajit said his committee’s priorities would be to sort out the parallel association problems in more than a dozen associations.

Infrastructure development and supporting minor disciplines would also be taken up urgently.

The office-bearers: President: Ajit Banerjee (football); Vice-presidents: Asit Banerjee (boxing), Asit Kumar Saha (wrestling), Bani Ghosh (cycling), Bijoy Gopal Mallick (shooting), Chandan Roychowdhury (rowing), Gurbux Singh (hockey) and Ramanuj Mukhopadhyay (swimming); Hony. General Secretary: Dilip Bhattacharya (volleyball). Hony. Treasurer: Kamal Bhandari (gymnastics). Hony. Joint secretaries: Abhijit Palit (kabaddi), Jahar Das (baseball), Swapan Banerjee (boxing) and Tapan Bakshi (judo).

Brijesh in last eight

All the four seeded players — Brijesh Damani, Manish Jain, Sourav Kothari and Lalrina Ranthil — made it to the quarterfinals of the East India Open snooker championship at the Hindustan Club, here on Sunday.

While Damani and Jain had easy 3-0 victories, Kothari and Ranthil were taken to full distance before they came through at 3-2.

The results: Pre-quarterfinals: Brijesh Damani bt N. Haldar 3-0 (89-3, 73-30, 85-29); Ankit Kariwala bt Abhishek Kedia 3-1 (12-54, 58-22, 66-26, 83-44); Shoaib Khan bt Paresh Bhimani 3-0 (61-48, 65-32, 61-21); Manish Jain bt Ameer Hussain 3-0 (114-2, 46-10, 58-14); Shakeel Ahmed bt Shyam Jagtiani 3-0 (73-14, 61-38, 52-19); Sourav Kothari bt S.V. Poddar 3-2 (61-17, 6-33, 42-67, 61-7, 60-20); Subrat Das bt Rajesh Tulsian 3-2 (65-22, 22-56, 67-31, 48-60, 61-30); Lalrina Ranthil bt Ravi Goenka 3-2 (13-70, 70-61, 50-48, 33-70, 57-44).

Grand start for

Army Red

Defending champion Army Red started its sixth successive title defence in a grand manner drubbing local challenger Maidan Hazards 60-7 in the opening round of the all-India and South Asia rugby at the CC & FC ground here on Sunday.

In another encounter, Sergeants’ Institute (of Kolkata Police) made a remarkable comeback to down a strong Army Green 13-10. The third match saw another local club Jungle Crows getting the better of Delhi Hurricanes 17-7.

Having been the sole owner of the most valued rugby title of the country since 2007, the Indian Army’s elite team showed the reason for its dominance by virtually grounding its youthful rival.

The 60-7 scoreline remained one of the biggest winning margins in recent times reflecting the overwhelming presence of Army Red, which made 10 tries and five conversions compared to just one successful attempt in each half by the Maidan Hazards.

For Army Red, Surender was the best performer making three tries (15 points) while Sudip and Charanjeet made couple of tries each.

Sergeants’ Institute picked up from its strong showing in the local championship as it erased a 0-10 deficit at half-time to fight back strongly in the second half against Army Green.

Bikash Tamang was the top scorer for the Sergeants tallying eight points from a successful ‘try’ and a penalty. Ajit Maity made the other try for the winner.

The results: First round: Army Red 60 (Tries - Surender 3, Sudip 2, Charanjeet 2, Yeshi 1, Samsher 1, B. Jana 1; Conversions - Sendil 2, Lamba 2, Dhananjay 1) bt Maidan Hazards 7 (Try – Pushpendu Tudu 1; Conversion – Chotu Kumar 1); Sergeants’ Institute 13 (Bikash Tamang 1 try + 1 penalty, Ajit Maity 1 try) bt Army Green 10 (Kuljit Singh 1 try, M.K. Vichies 1 pen + 1 conv); Jungle Crows 17 (Sailen Tudu 2 tries + 1 conv, Sarfaraz 1 try) bt Delhi Hurricanes 7 (Deepak Duggar 1 try + 1 conv).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper