Chettinad Vidyashram clinches Vidya Mandir- Sportstar trophy

print   ·   T  T  
Jubilant: The victorious Chettinad Vidyashram team posing with the chief guest S. Badrinath (sitting third from left). — PHOTO: K.V. Srinivasan
Jubilant: The victorious Chettinad Vidyashram team posing with the chief guest S. Badrinath (sitting third from left). — PHOTO: K.V. Srinivasan

Chettinad Vidyashram lifted the Vidya Mandir- Sportstar inter-school cricket trophy after getting the better of P.S. Senior Secondary School in the final by five wickets here on Thursday.

Set a target of 169 in a maximum of fifty overs, Chettinad rode on Shyam Sundar's unbeaten 80 to chase the target down with more than 10 overs to spare.

Batting first, P.S. slumped to 43 for five and it was left to Ilancharan (55) and Guru Prasad (56) to rescue the innings. The 105-run association between the two steered P.S. towards respectability, but regular strikes by Uma Maheshwaran (three for 35) restricted the total to 168 for nine in the allotted 50 overs.

Opener Shyam Sundar held one end up but Chettinad's chase ran into trouble when it lost five wickets for 82 runs. Shyam Sundar was joined by another southpaw, Samruddh Bhat (47 n.o.), and they were greeted by spin from either end with a 7-2 field.

Testing spell

Ilancharan sent down a testing spell of off-spin bowling which saw Samruddh swipe across the line a couple of times, with the ball landing in no man's land on both occasions. The spell seen through, the duo extended its partnership, putting on an unbeaten 90 runs at more than five an over. The target was overhauled with ease in the 40th over of the innings.

Shyam Sundar took home the man of the match award and the best batsman of the tournament honours. K.R. Abishek (Chettinad Vidyashram) was declared the best bowler of the tournament while R. Mugilan (Vidya Mandir) was announced the best all-rounder. M. Sai Ram (P.S.) was declared the most promising cricketer on show in the tournament.

S. Badrinath, Tamil Nadu and India cricketer, and S. Sridhar, Assistant Regional General Manager, Circulation, The Hindu, gave away the prizes in a function organised at the Vidya Mandir school in Mylapore.

The scores: P.S. SSS 168 for nine in 50 overs (R. Guru Prasad 56, J. Ilancharan 55, Vignesh Uma Maheshwaran three for 35) lost to Chettinad Vidyashram 172 for five in 39.1 overs (S. Shyam Sundar 80 n.o., Samruddh Bhat 47 n.o.) .

Suresh shines

S. Suresh Kumar's unbeaten 94 (6x6, 4x7) was the highlight of Grand Slam's three-wicket win over Jolly Rovers on Thursday in the BSA Hercules Twenty20 league cup cricket tournament being held here.

The scores: Jolly Rovers 173 for eight in 20 overs (N. Einstein 46, C. Hemant Kumar 34, K. Sriram three for 25) lost to Grand Slam CC 176 for seven in 18.5 overs (S. Suresh Kumar 94 n.o., Hemang Badani 41, Tinu Yohanan three for 30); Falcon CC 144 for eight in 20 overs (R.M. Lakshman Narayan 32, E Aswin 27, D. Harsha Vardhan 36, C. Madhu four for 32) lost to Parry S&RC 145 for five in 18.2 overs (Athiraj Sandhilya 27, S. Senthil Kumar 45) .

Fr. McFerran trophy

Sixteen teams from various parts of the country have shown interest in taking part in the Don Bosco-Fr. McFerran Trophy all India football tournament to be organised by the DBYC Wisdom Town in Red Hills near here from January 16 to 30.

Fr. N. Gerard, Chairman of the Red Hills Centre, briefing newsmen on Thursday said the tournament was in keeping with the immense interest that the DBYCs in the city had been showing to popularise the sport.

Fittingly the tournament was in memory of Fr McFerran, the Salesian priest who was associated with the Don Bosco, was a sports lover to the core with football being his special interest.

Fr Gerard said that Pune FC, an I-league side was a prominent entry for this tournament.

The others are DBYC Kochi, Brothers FC Kannur, Bangalore DFA XI (last year's runner up), Army Greens FC Bangalore, Don Bosco Oratory Fatorda, Vizag DFA XI, Pondicherry FA XI apart from the State outfits ICF, defending champion Indian Bank, Arrows FC, Southern Railway, Tamil Nadu Special Police, SBI, Thiruvallur DFA XI and Youngster FC, Poonammallee.

With no gates, the tournament is expected to attract a sizeable gathering from fans around the Red Hills area and the city too, according to him. The winner and the runner up get Rs 25,000 and Rs 15,000 respectively apart from individual prizes.

Akash advances

L. Akash blanked Koushik Kailash 6-0, 6-0 for a place in the U-16 boys singles quarterfinal of the Mayor Sambandam memorial AITA tournament being held here.

Other results (pre-quarterfinals):

Boys: U-16: S. Siddarth Reddy bt Sanjay Mohan 6-2, 6-1; S.L. Balaji bt Aditya Vasanth 6-1, 6-3; A.. Naveen Kumar bt Parishit Ramanathan 3-0 concd; C. Madan Mohan bt J. Vimal Raj 6-1, 6-4; S. Gokul bt Samud Sharma 6-4, 6-4; Avinash Baskar bt T. Shri Sharavan 6-1, 6-0; Rahul Manoah bt Arjun Ramakrishnan 6-3, 6-2; U-14: R. Rahul Raj bt Koushik Kailash 6-4, 6-0; S. Gokul bt S. Manish 6-2, 6-2; Ojes Tegygo bt Parishit Ramanathan 6-4, 6-2; Rohit Madhu bt Vijay Rajasekaran 6-2, 6-1; Ashwin Dhanasamy bt R. Preeth Kumar 6-3, 6-3; Sanjay Mohan bt Arjun Ramakrishnan 7-6 (3), 6-3; M. Dev Anand bt K.S. Siddartrh Arya 2-6, 6-2, 7-6 (3); Hari Haran Venkatraman bt Abinav Sanjeev 7-5, 6-2.

Girls: U-16: Bhavani bt Subha Nivedha 6-0, 6-0; V. Suryanarayan bt Sanjana Chandrasekar 6-3, 6-0; Kavvya Balasubramanian bt M. Deepiga 6-1, 6-2; N. Ramya bt Reshma Ganapathy 7-6 (2), 6-7 (2), 6-3; Niditra Rajmohan bt Shivani Dhanasamy 6-3, 6-2; Saleem Salima bt T. Shreya Sree 2-6, 7-5, 6-4; Pragati Nataraj bt Madhumitha Meenakshi 6-1, 6-3, S. Praveen bt V.J. Varshini 6-1, 6-1; U-14: N. Pragati bt Madhumitha Meenakshi 6-2, 6-3; Saleem Saleema bt Naditra Rajmohan 6-0, 6-2; N. Ramya bt Celini Maria 7-5, 6-0; Kavvya Balasubramanian bt Abinaya Rangarajan 6-1, 6-3; T. Shreya Sree bt R. Priya Dharshini 6-0, 6-1; V. Suryanarayan bt Megha Muthukumaran 6-0, 6-0; S. Praveena bt Latika Premkumar 6-2, 6-2; Reshma Ganapathy bt Swetha Premkumar 6-0, 6-0 .

Ball badminton tourney

KG Recreation Club (Kodungaiyur) will conduct the Chennai district fives ball badminton tournament for men on January 26 at R.V. Nagar Water Tank, Chennai-18. Entries close on January 24 and for details, call E. Ganapathy, ph: 93833 34456.

Sathyabama triumphs

Sathyabama University defeated MCC 76-54 in the final of the State-level inter-collegiate basketball tournament, organised by the Gandhigram Rural University in Dindigul.

Other results (semifinals): Sathyabama bt Bishop Heber College, Tiruchi 86-62; MCC, Chennai bt AVC College, Mayiladuthurai 68-52 ; (league): Sathyabama bt Jamal College, Tiruchi 80-62; Sathyabama bt GRD College, Coimbatore 76-56; Sathyabama bt AVC College, Mayiladuthurai 68-50 .

Chandramouli and

Anandan pair wins

K. Chandramouli and C. Anandan won from North-South direction and S. Vijayaraghavan and B.S. Prajwel pair was the winner from East-West in the TTK Group Alumni Club monthly Open bridge tournament held here.

Other placings: North-South: 2. Sunil and Srihari Varghese; 3. Ms. P.Diwakaran and Ms.E. Kripal Singh; East-West: 2. J. Suresh Babu and Karthik; 3. R.Vijayaraghavan and A.S.Venkatesh .

Viveka takes trophy

RKM Vivekananda College lifted the Quaid-e-Milleth Trophy beating Pachaiyappa's by three wickets in the final of the inter-collegiate cricket tournament.

The scores: Pachaiyappa's College 164 for eight in 30 overs (D. Sathishkumar 81, N. Suraj three for 39, Athreya Mukundan three for 22) lost to RKM Vivekananda College 165 for seven in 28 overs (R. Rohith 28, N. Suraj 48, S. Dinesh Kumar 28, J. Kaviyarasan three for 18, Meenakshi Sundaram three for 26) .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Sarjubala, Pinki strike gold

Rounding off a reasonably successful campaign for India, S. Sarjubala (48kg) and Pinki Jangra (51kg) clinched gold medals at the 22nd Pre... »