A wily Chetan Anand upset Subhankar Dey to seal a men’s singles semifinal spot in the ONGC all-India senior-ranking badminton championship here at the K. Raheja Stadium on Friday.

The 32-year-old Anand lost the first set, before wearing a tired Dey down in the second and third sets.

Dey, the 11th seed from Thane (Maharashtra), blew away his experienced opponent in the first set with brutal efficiency. The 19-year-old dragged the unseeded Anand to all corners of the court with powerful smashes, eventually putting away his opponent’s hurried recoveries by closing in on the net.

Dey maintained his momentum early in the second set, and took a 12-10 lead. A couple of nervy sideline misses from Dey let Anand into the match, and it was one-way traffic from here. Anand, a four-time national champion, sensed a considerable dip in energy from Dey, and went for the kill.

With subtle drops and clever placement, Anand won the second set 21-16 and raced to a big 11-5 lead in the decider. His younger opponent was by now visibly spent, and soon surrendered the match.

In another quarterfinal fixture, Karnataka’s Arvind Bhat fought hard, but failed to get past H.S. Prannoy, the sixth-seed. Bhat repeatedly used pinpoint down-the-line smashes to dig himself out of trouble, but ended second-best to the consistent Prannoy.

Tanvi Lad and Saili Rane gave the sizeable crowd a keenly contested match, with Tanvi prevailing with a 19-21, 21-14, 21-16 scoreline.

The results (quarterfinals):

Men: Singles: Chetan Anand (Pet) bt Subhankar Dey (Mah) 16-21, 21-16, 21-11; Sourabh Varma (Pet) bt Anup Sridhar (Kar) 21-15, 23-21; H.S. Prannoy (Pet) bt Arvind Bhat (Kar) 21-12, 19-21, 21-14; Sai Praneeth (Pet) bt V. Neeraj (Har) 21-16, 21-11.

Doubles: T. Hemanagendra Babu & Nanda Gopal (AP/AAI) bt G. Gopi Raju & Shivam Sharma (AI/UP) 21-11, 21-17; Alwin Francis & V. Diju (Ker/Pet) bt Ketan Chahal & Deepak Khatri (Har/Rly) 21-14, 21-10; Bennet Antony & P.H. Suraj (Ker) bt Tarun & Arun Vishnu (Pet) 21-14, 21-19; A. Dewalkar & Jerry Chopra (AI/Pet) bt Eshan Naqvi & Jishnu Sanyal (Mah/AI) 21-12, 21-15.

Women: Singles: Arundhati Pantawane (Mah) bt Trupti Murgunde (Pet) 21-13, 18-9 (retd.); Tanvi Lad (Pet) bt Saili Rane (AI) 19-21, 21-14, 21-16; G. Ruthvika Shivani (AP) bt Riya Pillai (Mah) 21-14, 21-19; P.C. Thulasi (Ker) bt G. Vrushali (AP) 21-13, 21-5.

Doubles: P. Sawant & A. Sunil (Pet/Ker) bt Agna Anto & M.H. Haritha (Ker) 21-16, 21-9; Varsha Belawadi & M. Sahdev (Kar/AAI) bt P. Jyotshna & Sarada Govardhini (AP) 21-14, 15-21, 24-22; S. Ghorpade & K. Maneesha (AI/AP) bt Jamuna Rani & Leela Lakshmi (AP) 21-7, 21-2; J. Meghana & Poorvisha Ram (AP/Kar) bt G.M. Nischitha & Sneha Santhilal (Kar/Ker) 18-21, 21-12, 21-18.

Mixed doubles: Arun Vishnu & Aparna Balan (Pet) bt T. Hemanagendra Babu & J. Meghana (AP) 21-13, 21-7; P. Jerry Chopra & K. Maneesha (Pet/AP) bt Prasad Venkat Gaurav & Juhi Dewangan (Chd) 21-5, 21-12; Nanda Gopal & S. Ghorpade (AAI/AI) bt Ram Vijay & G.M. Nischitha (Ker/Kar) 21-13, 21-8; S. Sunjith & P.S. Linymol (Ker) bt Abhishek Ahlawat & Sanskriti Chhabra (Del) 21-13, 15-21, 21-12.

Adil, Dhwani reign

Adil Kalyanpur and Dhwani Kumar won the boys and girls’ under-14 singles titles respectively in the JIRS AITA championship series tennis tournament that concluded here on Friday.

The results (finals): Boys: Under-14: Adil Kalyanpur (Kar) bt P. Sai Pranav (Kar) 6-4, 6-3. Under-12: Menga Rohit (AP) bt Kurva Gaurav (AP) 6-1, 6-2. Girls: Under-14: Dhwani Kumar (Kar) bt Niditra Rajmohan (Kar) 7-5, 6-3. Under-12: Rachan Reddy (AP) bt Amineni Shivani (AP) 6-4, 6-3.

Golf tournament

The Audi Quattro Golf Cup will be held at the Eagleton Golf Village here on Saturday.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper