Slotted between bad news from Brisbane and the Asia Cup at Dhaka in March, the K.S. Subbaiah Pillai Trophy South Zone limited overs tournament that will commence here on Monday, offers hope for a clutch of domestic cricketers to aim for greater glory.

Among the six squads, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka will remain the blue-chip teams, a status-quo earned by their proximity to the title over the last decade.

Last year, Tamil Nadu emerged as the champion while Karnataka secured the runner-up tag. Yet, the two teams will do well to keep complacence at bay.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper