Prakash Barla struck the golden goal in the 11th minute of extra-time as Birsa Munda Vidyapitha, Rourkela, defeated Guru Harkrishan Public School, India Gate, 2-1 in the semifinals of the Nehru junior hockey tournament at the Shivaji Stadium here on Thursday.

The Rourkela team had shot ahead in the ninth minute through Suraj Minz, but the Delhi team had equalised in the 35th minute through Sonu Kumar.

In the other semi-final, Springdales Senior Secondary School, Amritsar, outplayed Army Boys Sports Company, Bangalore, 4-1 after leading 2-0 at the interval.

The Punjab team shot ahead off an ‘own goal’ in the 16th minute, and converted a penalty corner through Satwinder Singh, to consolidate the position four minutes before halftime.

On resumption, Jobanpreet Singh converted a penalty stroke to further tighten the Amritsar team’s hold over the proceedings.

The Bangalore team pulled one back through Sahil Kumar, but Punjab sealed the issue with a goal in the 67th minute through Kawaljeet Singh.

Earlier results (superleague):

Springdales SSS (Amritsar) 4 (Jobanpreet Singh 2, Kawaljit Singh, Sukhdev Singh) bt V.S. Agricultural SSS (Kheragarhi) 0.

Government SSS (Jharkar) 6 (Harpreet Singh 2, Lovejeet Singh, Gurjeet Singh, Jatinder Pal Singh, self goal) bt NCC Directorate ‘B’ 4 (Mansid Hembram 2, Sunil Bhuniya, Alois Horo).

Birsa Munda Vidyapitha (Rourkela) 2 (Nitin Tigga, Sumit Toppo) bt Government SSS (Meham, Rohtak) 1 (Lalit). — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper