HYDERABAD: SCRSA recorded an innings and 22-run win over India Cements in the ‘A’ division (three-day) league cricket championship, here on Thursday.

India Cements, with 270 runs in arrears, put up an improved display but still fell short of the requirements in the second essay despite captain Santosh Yadav’s defiant unbeaten 84 (13x4) as the other batsmen found the bowling of Abdul Fareed (four for 34) tough to handle. Fareed struck when it mattered most.

In another match, Ranji fast bowler T. Pavan Kumar (five for 67) helped State Bank of Hyderabad take the vital first innings lead, restricting Andhra Bank to 312 in reply to SBH’s 484 for nine declared and the match eventually ended in a draw.

The scores: SBH 484 for nine decl. drew with Andhra Bank 312 (Abhinav Kumar 75, Amol Shinde 85, Khader 40, T. Pavan Kumar five for 67); BDL 397 & 64 for three drew with Deccan Chronicle 317 (Bharath Kumar 97, Sundeep Rajan 43, Praneeth Kumar 53); Ensconse 412 & 132 for six (Mohd. Azharuddin 44 n.o.) drew with Evergreen 390 (Jatin Mehta 97, Shivprasad 84, Dwarakanath Yadav 42, Shakeer Ahmed five for 19); India Cements 170 & 248 (Santosh Yadav 84 n.o., Gautham Reddy 49, Abdul Fareed four for 34) vs. SCRSA 440 for six decl.

Big win for STC (Chennai)

Sports Training Centre (Chennai) defeated STC (Kurnool) 11-0 in the South Zone inter-SAI STC hockey tournament for boys at the Begumpet Police Stadium here. The winner led 3-0 at the break.

For the winner, winger Vinod (5) was the top-scorer, while Sivamani (3), Manoj (2) and Hyder Ali (1) were the other scorers. In another match, STC (Kollam) recorded a 2-1 win over STC (Eluru) after leading 1-0 at the break.

Army College wins

Army College (Bolarum) defeated Siddhanth College 2-1 in the Sachdev Sports Cup inter-Collegiate football tournament, organised by the Shastri Soccer Club, at the Trimulgherry Village grounds here.

Siddhanth College took the lead in the 11th minute through winger Abdul Arafat.

However, Army outfit equalised within five minutes through Sriram to level the scores 1-1 at the break. On resumption, Solomon netted the match-winner for Army College.

Badminton tournament

Warangal District Badminton Association will organise the Surabhi Manohar Rao Memorial district championship-cum-selections for boys and girls in singles and doubles in the age groups of 19, 16 and 13 and for men and women at the District Sports Authority Indoor Stadium (Hanmakonda) from July 19 to 20.

Interested can pay the entry fees at the venue by July 17. For details call 9849339920.

Probables teams for selection match

The following teams consisting of North Zone probables will play a selection match at Kakinada from June 4 to 6 to select the Zonal team for the ACA inter-zone under-22 tournament, according to the secretary of East Godavari DCA K. Babi Raju on Thursday:

ACA President’s XI: P. Kranthi Kumar, T. Satyareddy, B. Sumanth, G. Appanna, T.S. Rao, G.V.S. Prasad, P. Suresh Kumar, K.D.M.L. Singh, M.S. Deepak Kumar, M. Ajay Kumar, B. Phanindra and Anuj Sabharwal.

ACA Secretary’s XI: V. Abraham, Ch.Y.V.V. Krishna, J.T. Yadav, P. Trinadh, P. Raghu, B.Diwakar, K. Ravishankar, K. Bharath Reddy, M. Avinash, P. Sagar, Swetan and A. Veerababu.

St. Aloysius posts win

St. Aloysius High School beat Vignan School ‘C’ 30-10 in the inaugural match in the Schools’ category of the second Nirmal Memorial basketball tournament at the AU Silver Jubilee court, Visakhapatnam, on Thursday. Mayor P. Janardhana Rao inaugurated the tournament.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper