Arvind Aaron

CHENNAI: Top seed B. Adhiban and R. Bhuvanesh, both from Chennai, used the middle-game theme of double attack to win their fourth round games in the Stree Seva Mandir National junior chess championship being played here.

On Tuesday, Adhiban attacked a rook and pawn at the same time to win a pawn and then won a knight via a pin to defeat Mehar Chinna Reddy of Andhra Pradesh.

Bhuvanesh attacked a rook and knight on move 16 to force resignation from K. Narayanan on the spot.

Adhiban — the reigning World under-16 champion and Bhuvanesh — the new qualifier for the National ‘A’ are jointly leading the table with four points. Seven rounds remain to be played.

Among the nine players tied for the third spot on 3.5 points are defending champion M.R. Lalith Babu and 2008 Asian Junior champion Ashwin Jayaram. Swapnil Dhopade (3.5) of Amravati gave a classic exhibition of a good bishop versus a bad bishop to defeat Himal Gusain of Chandigarh in 77 moves.

Bhakti, Preethi on top

In the girls’ section, Bhakti Kulkarni of Goa and R. Preethi of Madurai are leading the points table with full four points. Bhakti played the Accelerated Dragon opening with the black pieces and won after Chennai’s Savetha offered too many pawns to open up the black king side. Bhakti walked her king into the middle and won a rook ending.

R. Preethi — runner-up in the World under-18 championship in Vietnam last year won a free knight against Pon N. Krithikha in move 13 which involved a rare double pin.

Important results (fourth round):

Boys: B. Adhiban (TN) 4 bt Mehar Chinna Reddy (AP) 3; R. Premnath (TN) 3.5 drew with Lalith Babu (AP) 3.5; V.A.V. Rajesh (TN) 3.5 drew with P. Shyam Nikhil (TN) 3.5; R. Bhuvanesh (TN) 4 bt K. Narayanan (TN) 3; Ashwin Jayaram (TN) 3.5 bt P. Saravana Krishnan (TN) 2.5; Bitan Banerjee (WB) 2.5 lost to P. Karthikeyan (TN) 3.5; Swapnil Dhopade (Mah) 3.5 bt Himal Gusain (Chd) 2.5; Abhishek Kelkar (Mah) 2.5 lost to M. Shyam Sundar (TN) 3.5; Chinmay Kulkarni (Mah) 3 drew with Rakesh Kulkarni (Mah) 3; R. Ashwath (TN) 3.5 bt U.R. Sahoo (Ori) 2.5; S.P. Sethuraman (TN) 3 bt Niranjan Navalgund (Kar) 2.5; N. Srinath (TN) 3 bt D.S. Shashaank (TN) 2.

Girls: C.H. Savetha (TN) 3 lost to Bhakti Kulkarni (Goa) 4; M. Mahalakshmi (TN) 3.5 drew with Ch. Divyasri (AP) 3.5; Pon N. Krithikha (TN) 2.5 lost to R. Preethi (TN) 4; J. Saranya (TN) 2.5 lost to Padmini Rout (Ori) 3.5; Shalmali Gagare (Mah) 3.5 bt S. Athirai (TN) 2.5; B. Pratyusha (AP) 3.5 bt A. Akshaya (TN) 2.5; M. Khushboo (TN) 2 lost to R. Bharathi (TN) 3; M. Aruthi (TN) 2 lost to S. Harini (TN) 3; Mitali Patil (Mah) 3 bt B Taraswinee (Pon) 2.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper