Two centuries and as many five-wicket hauls were recorded on the opening day of the first round of the Buchi Babu tournament on Saturday.

Opener Bhushan Chauhan’s 111 (180b, 11x4, 1x6) set the tone for Saurashtra’s score of 350 for seven after it opted to bat against Assam. He put on 143 for the opening wicket with Chirag Pathak (71). Left-arm spinner J. Syed Mohammed took four wickets.

Another opening batsman, Kedhar Jadhav (103, 11x4, 2x6), had a good outing as he guided Maharashtra to 281 after it took first strike against

Hyderabad. Left-arm spinner A. Lalith Mohan picked up four wickets. Hyderabad, in reply, was 38 for two.

Riding on half-centuries from Faiz Fazal (64), Gaurav Upadhyay (70), and Ravi Jangid (78), Vidarbha finished with 341 for nine after it was inserted by TNCA President’s XI. Seamer M. Mohammed (five for 67) did the star turn for President’s XI.

Batting first, Karnataka produced a strong performance, posting 324 for eight versus Kerala. Ganesh Satish (60), C.M. Gautam (82), and skipper R. Vinay Kumar (73 not out) were the key contributors. Left-arm spinner K.R. Sreejith (five for 109) was the pick of the bowlers for Kerala.

At RKM-Viveka, where the start was delayed by an hour due to overnight rain, Mumbai mustered 251 after electing to bat against Baroda.

Swapnil Salvi (66) and Kaustabh Pawar (53) came up with useful knocks.

The left-arm spin duo of Bhargav Bhatt (four for 62) and Ketu Patel (three for 76) accounted for the bulk of the spoils.

The scores (first round):

Group A: Maharashtra 281 in 75.4 overs (Kedhar Jadhav 103, A. Lalith Mohan four for 82) vs. Hyderabad 38 for two in 11.2 overs.

Group B: Mumbai 251 in 89.4 overs (Swapnil Salvi 66, Kaustabh Pawar 53, Bhargav Bhatt four for 62) vs. Baroda.

Group C: Vidarbha 341 for nine in 90 overs (Faiz Fazal 64, Gaurav Upadhyay 70, Ravi Jangid 78, Ranjit Paradkar 40, M. Mohammed five for 67) vs. TNCA President’s XI.

Group C: Saurashtra 350 for seven in 90 overs (Chirag Pathak 71, Bhushan Chauhan 111, Jaydev Shah 46, Sheldon Jackson 48, Syed Mohammed four for 106) vs. Assam.

Group D: Karnataka 324 for eight in 90 overs (Ganesh Satish 60, Manish Pandey 41, C.M. Gautam 82, R. Vinay Kumar 73 n.o., K.R. Sreejith five for 99).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper