Man-of-the-match D. Bharathiraja's fine performance helped Customs record a clinical 2-0 victory over Chennai Football Club (CFC) in a St. Joseph's-CFA senior division league encounter on Thursday.

Customs was first off the blocks, scoring in the fifth minute. K. Sathish, assisted by P. Sudhakar, sent Bharathiraja clear on the right and the latter's razor-sharp strike found the mesh.

CFC tried to balance the equation with some spirited attempts. It came close to drawing level when M. Kuppuraj dispossessed P. Karthik on the left flank and crossed one to D. Raju. Luck, however, didn't favour the team as Raju's header deflected off the bar.

Customs, meanwhile, continued to toy with the rival defence, constantly threatening to expand the lead. However, Bharathiraja's shot from inside the box met with the same fate as that of Raju's.

There was some slackened play at the start of the second period but normal service soon resumed. Several chances were frittered away by both teams before Customs sealed the game in the 88th minute.

Bharathiraja was in the thick of things once again: his delectable cross from the right was slotted home by an unmarked K. Vigneshwaran.

Earlier, in a first division match, Nethaji thrashed DBYC (Kilpauk) 6-0. K. Jayaprakash notched up a hat-trick while D. Thendral earned himself a brace. K. Sandeep scored a goal as well.

The results: Senior Division: Customs 2 (D. Bharathiraja, K. Vigneshwaran) bt Chennai Football Club 0. First Division: Nethaji 6 (K. Jayaprakash 3, D. Thendral 2, K. Sandeep) bt DBYC (Kilpauk) 0.

Karan emerges winner

Karan Arjun won with a score of 148 gross in Category ‘A' of the EMM JAY-MGC junior & sub-junior golf championship on Thursday.

R.S.R. Ramprasad, Honorary Sub-Secretary, Madras Gymkhana Club, Ishwar Achanta, Council Member, Indian Golf Union, and T.S. Jagdish, MD, EMM JAY Financial Ventures, presided over and gave away the prizes.

The results: Category ‘A': 1. Karan Arjun (148 gross); 2. E. Hariharan (160); 2 Akshath Vidyanath (168). Category ‘B': 1. B. Harshath (168); 2. K. Surya Kumar (170); 3. Balamithran (174). Category C: 1. Gagan Gopinath (161); 2. Shreyas Chandra (166); 3. Prateek Nagaprasad (168). Category ‘D': 1. K. Shiv Karan (184); 2. Aryan Roopa Anand (184); 3. B. Nilesh Kumar (214). Category ‘E': 1. Ayushman Jaiswal (83); 2. Tiya Chowdhry (86); 3. Ananjan Kaushik (89).

Pushparaj triumphs

Pushparaj (ASCA) defeated Ashok Subramani (GJSR) 360-355 in the final of the MUC - IOB non-medallist billiards tournament.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper