Bengal qualified for the all-India Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 tournament as East Zone champion after defeating Orissa by 18 runs in the final league match of the zonal leg at Cuttack on Sunday.

The scores: Bengal 132 for six (S. Goswami 43, L.R. Shukla 35 n.o., Dhiraj Singh two for 23) bt Orissa 114 for eight in 20 overs (R.R. Das 24, B.B. Samantaray 22, A. Dinda two for 23, L.R. Shukla two for 31).

Jharkhand 138 for six in 20 overs (I. Jaggi 61 n.o., Rajiv Kumar 21, Pritam Das two for 28, Parvez Aziz two for 21) lost to Assam 142 for five in 19.2 overs (P. Aziz 29, Dhiraj Sharma 46, Y.V. Krishnaty two for 28, Shabhaz Nadeem two for 24). – Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper