DHAKA: Bangladesh national selectors retained most of the World Cup squad, with Habibul Bashar as captain, in the upcoming limited overs home series against India, an official said on Monday.

"We didn't want to break the winning combination," chief selector Faruque Ahmed said, announcing the 14-member team at a news conference here on Monday. Mohammad Ashraful would be Bashar's deputy.

The selectors have rested Tapash Baishya, who returned home early from the Caribbean with an injury, and Rajin Saleh was dropped in favour of Farhad Reza, who made the World Cup squad but did not get a chance to play.

Bashar, who recently indicated he may retire from the shorter version of the game, said he would make his decision after the series against India.

The series will also be Dav Whatmore's last as Bangladesh's coach. The 53-year-old Australian, whose four-year tenure expired on Monday, earlier declined to renew his contract, but agreed to stay on for the Indian series.

The team: Habibul Bashar (capt.), Shahriar Nafees, Javed Omar, Tamim Iqbal, Aftab Ahmed, Shakib al Hasan, Mohammad Ashraful, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Rafique, Abdur Razzak, Mashrafee bin Murtaza, Shahadat Hossain, Syed Rasel and Farhad Reza. AP

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper