The Bangalore winter season will get underway here on November 5. The 34-day meeting includes 12 special races, which also comprises the Bangalore Derby.

Chairman and Senior Steward D.M. Kumaraswamy, who briefed the media on Wednesday, said the club expected to pay stakes, incentives and subsidy of nearly Rs. 13.5 crore this time, as against the Rs. 14 crore in the previous winter meeting.

“Ten per cent incentive would be paid on stakes earned in ordinary races by horses bred in Karnataka. Twenty per cent incentive would be paid on stakes money earned by small owners of local horses in ordinary races. Oats subsidy of Rs 1,135 per horse per month would be credited, subject to fulfilling certain conditions. Stakes for the 4th, 5th, & 6th-placed horses will be paid, only if there are at least 8, 9 and 10 acceptors respectively.”

About 95 jockeys and 38 ‘A' license trainers are expected to take part in the meeting. Nearly 750 horses and 340 two-years-olds are expected to take part during the season which concludes on March 26.

Racing will be held mainly on Fridays and Saturdays.

Concurrently Winter Races will be held at Mysore for a period of 17 days, mainly on Wednesdays, commencing on November 11. The following races will be sponsored during the ensuing meeting:

The Kelachandra New Millennium Cup, Karnataka Racehorse Owners Association Trophy, Ted Fordyce Cup, VIF Bangalore Derby, D.P. Sharma Memorial Sprinters Trial Stakes, P. Dayanand Pai & P. Satish Pai, Bangalore Winter Million and Heeroji Lad Bangalore Juvenile Million.

The Bangalore winter Derby will be sponsored by Dr. and Mrs. Syed Ainuddin Arif, representing VIF Group of Concerns, Hyderabad, with equal contribution of Rs. 10 lakh each by the sponsors and the Club towards added money and Rs. 87,500 each towards value of trophies.

To a query regarding the case in the Supreme Court on the shifting of the race course as directed by Karnataka Government and the High Court, the chairman said the hearing on the issue had been posted to December 6.

Racing dates: Nov. 5 (Rajyotsava Trophy), 6, 13, 19, 20, 26, 27 (Bangalore 1000 Guineas). Dec. 3, 4 (Bangalore Turf Club Trophy), 11 (Bangalore 2000 Guineas), 17, 18, 24, 25, 31. Jan. 1 (Bangalore Oaks), 8 (Chief Minister's Trophy), 15, 21, 22, 26 (VIF Bangalore Derby), 29 (D.P. Sharma Memorial Sprinters Trial Stakes). Feb. 3 (Stayers Trial Stakes), 12, 18, 19 (P. Dayanand Pai & P. Satish Pai Bangalore Winter Million), 25, 26 (Governor's Trophy). March. 11, 12, 18, 19, 25 and 26 (Heeroji Lad Bangalore Juvenile Million) .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper