: BAC emerged the overall champion as the 13th State short-course swimming meet concluded at the Basavanagudi pool here on Thursday.

There was more success for BAC wards M. Arvind (Group I) and S.P. Likith (Group II), both of whom finished individual champions in their respective categories. Arvind set his fourth record of the meet, in the 200m IM, eclipsing his own effort from a year ago. Likith maintained his dominance of the breaststroke events in Group II, taking the 50m and 200m titles with record times. Both existing records were his.

C.J. Sanjay of Dolphin Aquatics, individual champion from Group IV, also found success on the final day to finish with six gold medals and four records to his name.

Important results (winners only) :

Boys: Group I: 50m freestyle : Rakshith Shetty (BAC) 25.72; 800m freestyle : Mitesh Kunte (BAC) 8:50.68; 50m backstroke : Varun Rao (Dolphin) 28.58; 200m IM : M. Arvind (BAC) 2:11.73, NMR (Old: 2:11.79, M. Arvind, 2011). Individual champion : M. Arvind.

Group II: 25m freestyle : S.P. Likith (BAC) 11.98; 1500m freestyle : Md. Yaqoob Saleem (PMSC) 17:07.35, NMR (Old: 17:34.66, Md. Yaqoob Saleem, 2011); 50m breaststroke : S.P. Likith (BAC) 31.59, NMR (Old: 32.33, S.P. Likith, 2011); 200m breaststroke : S.P. Likith (BAC) 2:30.01, NMR (Old: 2:32.84, S.P. Likith, 2011). Individual champion : S.P. Likith.

Group III: 50m backstroke : S. Siva (BAC) 34.07; 100m butterfly : Anirudh Murali (BAC) 1:09.03. Individual champion : Hemanth Jenukal (GSC).

Group IV: 50m butterfly : C.J. Sanjay (Dolphin) 33.10, NMR (Old: 33.22, Bharath Kumar, 2000); 200m individual medley : C.J. Sanjay (Dolphin) 2:45.28, NMR (Old: 2:46.30, N.A. Sandeep, 2002). Individual champion : C.J. Sanjay.

Girls: Group I: 50m backstroke : Tulasi Haritsa (BAC) 34.10s; 200m IM : Tulasi Haritsa (BAC) 2:38.28. Individual champion : Tulasi Haritsa.

Group II: 1500m freestyle : Shraddha Sudhir (NAC) 19:49.03s, NMR (Old: 19:59.47, N.B. Ashrita, 2010); 50m butterfly : Damini Gowda (BAC) 31.22; 200m breaststroke : Deeksha Ramesh (GSC) 3:07.39. Individual champion : V. Malavika.

Group III: 100m butterfly : S. Thanuja (BAC) 1:15.61s; 50m backstroke : Shriya Bhat (BAC) 36.33. Individual champion : Shriya R. Bhat.

Group IV: 50m butterfly : Vaania Kapoor Achutan (BAC) 33.48s; 200m IM : Vaania Kapoor Achutan (BAC) 2:47.48. Individual champion : Vaania Kapoor Achutan.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper