Special Correspondent

AGM virtual repeat affair of the Sept. 2008 meeting

Tributes were paid to Dungarpur

Mumbai: Cricket aficionados of Jaipur have become the unfortunate victims of the power struggle crisis at the Rajasthan Cricket Association (RCA) and the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Thursday shifted the venue of the first One-Day International against Australia from Jaipur to Baroda on October 25. It would be a day match.

RCA affair

With the warring groups claiming to be in control of the administration of the RCA, the BCCI President did not want to favour the group headed by either Sanjay Dixit or Rajendra Singh Rathore. There was consolation for both though; they were allowed to mark their presence at the AGM.

The BCCI’s 80th Annual General Body Meeting (AGM) was a virtual repeat affair of the September 2008 meeting; all business on hand was transacted in one hour at the Cricket Centre, ‘D’ Road, Churchgate. Narendra Modi, President, Gujarat Cricket Association (GCA), attended his first BCCI AGM. The BCCI decided to name the BCCI Inter-Corporate Trophy in former President Raj Singh Dungarpur’s memory, ratified a Working Committee decision to establish the Umpire’s Training Academy in Nagpur where the umpires, scorers and statisticians will be trained and virtually retained the standing committees it elected a year ago and appointed the same set of selectors for the senior team.

Sanjeev Sharma had completed a four-year term as junior selector and was replaced by Arun Sharma. The AGM also announced the IPL and TV subvention for the 25 State units. All the State units will receive an equal sum of Rs. 8.10 crore each from the IPL season II held in South Africa.

The associations that did not stage a Test or ODI will receive Rs. 10.53 crore as their share of TV subvention, the associations that staged a One-Day International will receive Rs. 13.33 crore, the associations that staged a Test match will receive Rs. 14.22 crore and the associations that staged a Test and ODI will receive Rs. 17 crore. When the IPL Season II and TV subvention are taken together the range is between 18.63 crore and Rs.25.10 crore.

The committees: Working Committee: Shashank Manohar (President), N. Srinivasan (Secretary), Sanjay Jagdale (Joint Secretary), Mohinder P. Pandove (Treasurer), Arun Jaitley, Shivlal Yadav, Arindam Ganguly, Chirayu Ami, Lalit Modi (all Vice-Presidents), Delhi DCA, Tamil Nadu CA, Cricket Association of Bengal, Mumbai CA, UPCA (all permanent Test centres), Himachal Pradesh CA, Hyderabad CA, Jharkhand State CA, CCI, Rajasthan CA , Karnataka CA, Punjab CA, Gujarat CA, Vidarbha CA.

Senior Tournament Committee: Shivalal Yadav (Chairman), Haryana CA, Goa CA, Assam CA, Maharashtra CA, Railways Sports Promotion Board, N. Srinivasan (Secretary)

Technical Committee: Sunil Gavaskar (Chairman), Prem Thakur, Sudhakar Rao, Nilay Dutta, Milind Rege, Prashant Vaidya, K. Srikkanth, Sourav Ganguly, V. K. Ramaswamy and N. Srinivasan.

Women’s Committee: Shashank Manohar (Chairman), Geeta Mehta, Vidya Yadav, Anuradha Misra, Diana Edulji, Shubhangi Kulkarni, Sharad Pawar, N. Srinivasan.

All India Senior Selection Committee: K. Srikkanth (Chairman), Yashpal Sharma, Narendra Hirwani, Surendra Bhave, C.R. Venkatraman (Raja Venkat), N. Srinivasan (Secretary / Convenor).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper