Melbourne: Leading the series 1-0, Australia on Wednesday named an unchanged 12-member squad for the second Test against Pakistan, beginning in Sydney on Sunday.

New South Wales spinner Steven Smith, who was called to join the 12-man squad in Melbourne as cover for Nathan Hauritz, has been left out.

The hosts won the Melbourne Test by a huge margin of 170 runs.

Victorian paceman Clint McKay, who was with the team as 12th man for the Boxing Day Test, has been retained in the squad, a Cricket Australia statement said.

The squad: Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke (vice capt), Simon Katich, Shane Watson, Mike Hussey, Marcus North, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Hauritz, Peter Siddle, Doug Bollinger and Clint McKay. — PTI

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper