Hyderabad will host Australia for the first time in a Test match.

Australia has never won the second Test of a series versus India (in India) in 11 attempts. India has prevailed six times while five have been drawn.

Skipper Michael Clarke needs exactly 100 to overtake Matthew Hayden (1888) and become Australia’s second highest run-getter against India. Ricky Ponting, with 2555 runs, is on top.

For India, Sachin Tendulkar leads the pack with 3532 runs. V.V.S. Laxman is a distant second (2434).

Nine of the 10 Border-Gavaskar Trophy series have ended in a result.

India has won five times, including the one-off Test (series) in 1996-97 when the Trophy was instituted, while Australia has emerged victorious on four occasions. The 2003-04 series down under was the only one that ended with honours even (1-1).

Gavaskar led the country twice against the Aussies (1979-80 in India & 80-81 in Australia) while Border captained in three series (85-86 & 91-92 down under and 86-87 in India). — Compiled by R. Narayanan

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper