Athul Pradeep and A. Vipul hit half centuries as Campion School brushed aside Al-Ameen by 70 runs in an all-Edapally match and entered the first phase quarterfinal of the fourth Century all-Kerala schools cricket tournament at the St. Albert’s College ground, Kaloor, on Monday.

In another pre-quarterfinal, Kakkanad’s Christu Jayanthi PS defeated Elamakkara’s Saraswathi Vidyanikethan by six wickets.

The scores:

Campion PS, Edappally 225 for five in 20 overs (Atul Pradeep 66, A. Vipul 53, Nithin S. Das 41 n.o.) bt Al-Ameen PS, Edappally 155 for eight in 20 overs (Azhar Sha 45).

Saraswathi Vidyanikethan, Elamakkara 143 for eight in 20 overs (V. Varun 49) lost to Christu Jayanthi PS, Kakkanad 145 for four in 19 overs.

Divya fastest

Labour India’s Divya Devasia emerged as the fastest athlete in the CBSE all-Kerala inter-school girls’ athletics championship (Cluster VI) at the Maharaja’s Stadium here on Monday.

Another Labour India athlete, Diana P. Ashok, walked away with two gold medals, in the under-19 shot put and discus throw.

Olympian K.M. Binu inaugurated the two-day meet.

The winners: Girls, under-19: Divya Devasia (Labour India) 13.2s. 800m: Merly Johnson (Viswadeepthi) 2:38.9s. 3000m: Priyanka Krishnan (Labour India) 11:52.3s. Long jump: Tincy Thomas (Labour India) 4.82m. Shot put: Diana P. Ashok (Labour India) 9.13m. Discus: Diana P. Ashok (Labour India) 25.01m.

Under-16: 100m: Jomin Anna Dhas (Labour India, Marangattuppilly) 13.2s. 800m: Chippy Joji (Labour India) 2:31.7s. Long jump: Merin Sabu (Bhavan’s Newsprint, Velloor) 4.27m. High jump: Rehna Rasheed (Bharath Vidya Mandir, Valappadu) 1.35m. Shot put: Feba Mariya C. John (Viswadeepthi) 8.76m. Discus: T.R. Arya (St. Thomas CS, Tvm) 22.78m.

Under-14: 100m: Richu Raichal Tomy (Viswadeepthi CMI PS, Adimaly) 13.7s. 800m: Sona Biju (Viswadeepthi) 2:50.3s. Long jump: Gayathri Sivakumar (Bhavan’s Girinagar) 4.72m.

Services volleyball

The 62nd Services volleyball championship begins at the Rajiv Gandhi indoor stadium, Kadavanthra, on Tuesday. Navy, Air Force, Army Green and Army Red are the four teams in the fray.

The Services team for the National senior championship will be picked from this event.

Commodore M.R. Ajayakumar, Commanding Officer, INS Venduruthy and Naval Officer-in-Charge, Kerala, will inaugurate the championship at 10 a.m.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper