The IHF Men's Asian Continental Challenge handball tournament will begin at the Nehru Indoor stadium on Friday. The Indian team is fresh from a month-long preparatory camp at Amritsar. Coach Muralidharan said that the team will be without two regulars, Lalit from Uttar Pradesh and Subhash from Bhilai, Chhattisgarh.

Of the three other teams in the event, India has only faced Pakistan, said Muralidharan. He was wary of the threat posed by the other two teams. “Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan are former Soviet nations, so I think they must be good teams. But we are looking forward to the challenge.”

Out of the four teams taking part in the event, one will progress to the next phase of qualifying for the 2013 World Cup.

Easy for Vidya Mandir

A fourth-wicket partnership of 162 runs between V. Sreeraman (79) and R. Mugilan (90 not out) helped Vidya Mandir ‘A' post a 183-run win over Lady Andal in the Vidya Mandir- Sportstar tournament here.

The scores:

Vidya Mandir SSS ‘A' 226 for four in 30 overs (V. Sreeraman 79, R. Mugilan 90 not out) bt Lady Andal 43 in 20 overs (Gautham Srinivasan three for 10, Ajay Sundaresan three for 17).

St. Patrick's 91 in 29.1 overs (A. Sharath Raj three for five) lost to Don Bosco 92 for five in 15.5 overs (G.K. Shyam 42 not out).

St. Michael's 155 for five in 30 overs (M. Venkat 69) bt Vidya Mandir SSS ‘B' 134 in 29.5 overs (Nithesh 28, Abhijith 26).

Bhavans Rajaji Vidyashram 70 in 26.2 overs (S. Sidharth four for 10, K.R. Abhishek three for nine) lost to Chettinad Vidyashram 71 for three in 13 overs (Varun Ganesh 27).

Maharishi Vidya Mandir 119 for eight in 30 overs (S.S. Arunachalam 37 not out, Kamlesh 33, S. Anirudh three for 28) lost to PSBB T.P. Road 121 for six in 27.2 overs (Yogesh V. Narayan 27, S. Abhishek 26 not out, Karthick Kiran four for 24).

P.S. Senior 90 for nine in 30 overs (K.M. Sharan 36 not out, M. Sairam 25, M.S. Sanjay four for eight) lost to Santhome HSS 93 for six in 26.2 overs (G. Varun three for 24).

Sirajudeen shines

Helped by T. Sirajudeen's 60, Government HSS defeated PS Senior Secondary School in the TSN T20 rolling trophy tournament here.

The scores: PS Sr. Sec. School 155 for eight in 20 overs (M. Adithiyan 47, N.S. Suraj 30, R. Rajesh 28) lost to Govt. HSS, Ashok Nagar 157 for three in 16 overs (T. Sirajudeen 60, S. Naveen 26, B.T. Subash 29).

Modern SSS 138 for five in 20 overs (K.B. Dixit 42, K.V.S. Uday Teja 32) bt Sivasamy Kalalaya, Mylapore 135 in 20 overs (L. Karthik 62, S. Harish 28, K.B. Dixit three for 20).

Two share lead

WFMs Mahalakshmi and Srija Seshadri were in lead with three points each at the end of the third round of the Rachel Paranjothy chess tournament for women here on Thursday.

They were followed by WFM Monnisha and V. Shvetha with 2.5 points each.

Important results: M. Mahalakshmi (3) bt V. Janu (2); V. Shvetha (2.5) drew with G.K. Monnisha (2.5); Srija Seshadri (3) bt R. Aishwarya (2) ; V. Varshini (2) bt P. Balakannamma (1.5); R. Vaishali (1.5) lost to R. Manjula (2); R. Dharani Sree (2) bt T.G. Akshaya (1); S.P. Rakshitha Sree (1) lost to C.M.N. Sunyuktha (2); Y. Saranya (2) bt Girija Rani (1); V. Rindhiya (1) lost to P. Thamarai Selvi (2); P. Malleswari (1) bt Saradha (1) .

Chess tournament

Solar Chess Club will conduct the 17th Open tournament on January 22 and 23 at PSBB SSS (K.K. Nagar) for under-8, 10, 12, 14 and 18 (boys and girls). Entry forms are available at Solar House, Mylapore. For details call 24643024/42347777. Or contact Chandra Ramani at 9840798456.

Thrilling win for QMC

QMC scored an exciting one-run win over TSN in the Quaid-e-Milleth Trophy here .

The scores: QMC 158 for eight in 30 overs (L. Saravanan 46, Sathish four for 25) bt TSN College 157 for nine in 30 overs (Bala 31, Venkat 32, S. Ejaz Ahmed three for 33

QMC 137 in 24 overs (Sudesh 32, M. Jagadeesan three for 28, K. Loganathan three for 18) lost to RVG College 138 for six in 22 overs (Palani three for 30)

AM Jain 120 in 24.2 overs (D. Victor 31, S. Venkatesh three for 20) bt Mohd. Sathak College 75 in 20 overs (M. Sathyaraj six for 22)

D.G. Vaishnav 153 for six in 27 overs (J.P. Raman 36, L. Sathish 51 n.o., Hari three for 17) bt Sankara College 144 in 27 overs (M. Prashanth three for 25, K. Baskar three for 22).

Panimalar prevails

Panimalar defeated BSNL 15-25, 26-24, 25-22, 18-25, 15-13 in a Chennai District Division ‘A' volleyball league match at SRM University here on Thursday.

The results: Men: Customs bt Sathyabama 25-15, 25-14, 25-15, Panimalar bt BSNL 15-25, 26-24, 25-22, 18-25, 15-13.

Women: SDAT bt Vels University 25-14, 25-12, Armed Police bt NSC 25-18, 25-16, Dr. Sivanthi Club bt KCG Tech 25-19, 25-16 .

Arunai posts win

Arunai defeated KCG by 55 runs in the SSN Rolling Trophy inter-engineering collegiate cricket tournament here on Wednesday.

The scores: Md. Sathak CE 108 for eight in 20 overs (Sadiq 28, Faizal 26, Prasanth three for 14) lost to Tagore EC 109 for five in 19.4 overs (Chakrabani 33, Prasanth 26); Jerusalem CE 138 for nine in 20 overs (K.S. Balaji 54) bt BSA Crescent University 88 in 17.5 overs; Arunai EC 139 for nine in 20 overs (Jeevanathan 51, Premraj 32) bt KCG College of Technology 84 for six in 20 overs (Karthikeyan three for 14) .

Unbeaten 110 by Karthik

B. Karthik's unbeaten 110 (12x4, 2x6) helped Thiruvallur score 351 against Coimbatore on the opening day of their TNCA under-22 inter-District semifinal in Coimbatore on Thursday.

The scores (semifinals): Thiruvallur 351 in 82.3 overs (R. Karthick Adithya 47, M. Panchapakesan 91, B. Karthik 110 n.o., A. Siddharth three for 38, N. Harish three for 98, Nithish Kumar Sahaney three for 50) vs. Coimbatore 26 for no loss in five overs .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper