Aryan Club ended East Bengal’s 21-match unbeaten run this season, prevailing 2-1 in their premier division contest of the Calcutta Football League on Thursday.

East Bengal, which rested all its three foreigners who play in the I-League, found itself down by a goal when Gopal Debnath put Aryan ahead with a brilliant free-kick in the 10th minute.

East Bengal equalised in the 65th minute off a corner kick, which was nodded home by defender Raju Gaekwad.

Pankaj Moula scored the winner for Aryan in the 75th minute.

Shukla named skipper

The Cricket Association of Bengal announced a 14-member Ranji squad for the game against Hyderabad at Eden Gardens from Saturday.

With regular captain Manoj Tiwary injured during the team’s loss against Saurashtra in the previous round, seasoned all-rounder Laxmi Ratan Shukla will lead the side.

The squad: Laxmi Ratan Shukla (capt.), Rohan Banerjee, Arindam Das, Debabrata Das, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Shami Ahmed, Iresh Saxena, Sourav Sarkar, Veer Pratap Singh, Anustup Majumder, Sandipan Das, Sudip Chatterjee and Gitimoy Bose.

Junior handball

The 10th junior State handball championship for boys and girls will be held at Barsul in Burdwan district from December 14 to 16. In all 20 teams are taking part in this championship.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper