Special Correspondent

Rajkot: Karnataka’s young batsmen once again showed the appetite to score runs in the Ranji Trophy competition. Ganesh Satish spent nearly four hours to make a bright and impressive 120 (163b, 17x4, 3x6), left handed Amit Verma contributed with a useful half century and Manish Pandey made a hard-hitting 55.

Skipper Robin Uthappa struck the big blows to make a 57-ball 62 for the leader of Group B to advance Saurashtra’s 216 by 168 runs.

But at stumps on the second day of their Super League match here at the Khanderi Stadium, Karnataka may rue the missed opportunity to post an imposing score.

On a surface that’s devoid of any purchase for the bowlers, opener Chirag Pathak sent the Karnataka fielders on a leather hunt to rattle up an unbeaten 47 (57b, 9x4s) and substantially whittle down the arrears in the 16 overs the home team got to bat in the post tea session.

Fast bowler Abhimanyu Mithun — without his customary new ball partner of the season R. Vinay Kumar — did not go on an overdrive but still hit Pathak on his leading arm shoulder which caused a brief stoppage.

The brave Pathak recovered and hit shots all over the park. He kept the Karnataka attack at bay for a little over one hour.

Earlier, resuming at 80 for two, Karnataka lost night watchman Udit Patel within the first half hour. However, Satish and Verma prevented any further wickets and added 125 runs.

Initial long spells by Sandeep Jobanputra and Sandeep Maniar, and some show of resolve by the spinners was repelled by the fourth-wicket pair.

Satish showed a distinct taste for the drive in front of the wicket and also stepped out to lift the spinners for three big boundary. The two were finally separated by Jobanputra, whose left hand seam got the better of Verma’s attempted whip across the line.

Dropped by Sitanshu Kotak (at mid-wicket) off left arm spinner Rakesh Dhruv, Satish on drove the same bowler for his 16th four and reach his second first class century.

After his departure, Pandey and Uthappa put on a power-packed stand of 103 runs for the sixth wicket before the two holed out to Jobanputra positioned a couple of metres from the deep forward of square leg fence.

Their exit at the stroke of tea-time hastened the decline of the Karnataka first innings; the last five wickets fell for 31 runs.

The scores: Saurashtra — 1st innings: 216

Karnataka — 1st innings: K. B. Pawan c Jogiyani b Joshi 3, C.M. Gautam c Mehta b Makvana 24, G. Satish c Joshi b Makvana 120, U. Patel c Maniar b Jobanputra 10, A. Verma b Jobanputra 68, M. Pandey c Jobanputra b Joshi 55, R. Uthappa c Jobanputra b Joshi 62, S. Binny b Dhruv 2, A. Mithun c Makvana b Joshi 9, S. Aravind b Makvana 15, K.P. Appanna (not out) 0; Extras: (b-4, lb-2, nb-5, w-5) 16; Total: (in 90.2 overs) 384.

Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-68, 3-97, 4-222, 5-250, 6-353, 7-360, 8-360, 9-376.

Saurashtra bowling: Jobanputra 19-6-77-2, Maniar 15-5-47-0, Joshi 19-3-77-4, Dhruv 21-1-90-1, Makvana 15.2-1-82-3, Kotak 1-0-5-0.

Saurashtra — 2nd innings: C. Pathak (batting) 47, S. Jogiyani (batting) 10; Total: (for no loss in 16 overs) 57.

Karnataka bowling: Mithun 6-1-18-0, Aravind 6-0-30-0, Patel 2-0-2-0, Appanna 2-0-7-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper