KOLKATA: A controversial penalty in the second session helped Mohun Bagan beat Chirag United SC 1-0 and retain the premier division title of the Kolkata Football League for the third successive time.

The concluding match of the league at the Salt Lake Stadium saw Edeh Chidi score the winning goal from the spot. This was Bagan's 29th title triumph in the 112-year-old tournament.

Looking to become the first team in 52 years to win the prestigious league apart from the city's three famous clubs — Bagan, East Bengal and Mohd. Sporting — Chirag saw its hopes dashed when referee Minanshu Bhattacharya awarded Bagan a penalty in the 66th minute.

The Chirag players protested the decision fiercely, holding up the match for around five minutes. Two players were given marching orders for assaulting the referee. The match resumed after the police intervened.

Earlier, the match witnessed a stoppage of 24 minutes when the floodlights went off. Bagan, which was down on goal difference and tied on points with Chirag before the encounter, tallied 39 points from 15 matches to steer clear of the latter which ended on 36 to finish as the runner-up. — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper