G. Viswanath

Vadodara: Absent from the Bengal ranks for the Ranji Trophy Super League for nearly three months, Shreevats Goswami has grabbed his chances and showed his mettle in the limited-over tournament for the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Three centuries in five matches has already made him the top run-getter with 442. On Thursday, the left-hander, in the company of Sourav Ganguly, left a fine impression with a sparkling undefeated 149 that put Bengal against Karnataka in the semifinal that will be played at the Moti Bagh Palace Ground here on Saturday.

Karnataka, which thrashed Haryana in the quarterfinals, will have to either pick Stuart Binny or S. Aravind as fast bowler Abhimanyu Mithun has been picked for the third and final One-Day International against South Africa.

Dravid, playing here after the jaw-injury, excelled as a fielder and batsman against Haryana. Ganguly, after a slow start, dominated the Saurashtra bowlers to make an undefeated 87. Karnataka would look to Robin Uthappa to give it a bright start just as he did in the South Zone league.

The teams: Karnataka (from): Rahul Dravid (capt.), Robin Uthappa, Ganesh Satish, C.M. Gautam, R.R. Bhatkal, Manish Pandey, K.L. Rahul, Stuart Binny, R. Jonathan, R. Vinay Kumar, Udit Patel, Amit Verma, K.P. Appanna, S.L. Akshay, S. Aravind.

Bengal (from): Laxmi Ratan Shukla (capt.), Manoj Tiwary, Sourav Ganguly, Wriddhiman Saha, Arindham Das, Shreevats Goswami, Abhishek Jhunjhunwala, Sourasish Lahiri, Ashok Dinda, Ranadeb Bose, Arnab Nandi, Sudip Chatterjee, Soumya Pakre, Sourav Sarkar, Mohd. Sami Ahmed, Anustup Mujumdar.

Umpires: S. Asnani and N. Patwardhan .

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper