Bangalore: There is a shift at the helm of affairs in Karnataka cricket as seamer Vinay Kumar replaced Robin Uthappa as the team’s skipper ahead of the K.S. Subbaiah Pillai Trophy South Zone limited overs tournament at Chennai from February 10 to 16. As the selectors felt that Uthappa needed to freely focus on his batting, Vinay emerged as a consensus choice.

The team: Vinay Kumar (captain), Robin Uthappa, C.M. Gautham, Ganesh Satish, Manish Pandey, Amit Verma, S.L. Akshay, Stuart Binny, S. Arvind, Udit Patel, K.P. Appanna, R. Jonathan, Raju Bhatkal, Devraj Patil, Ryan Ninan and K.L. Rahul. Coach: Sanath Kumar.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper