VISAKHAPATNAM: Last year’s runner-up Deccan Chronicle beat The New Indian Express to move into the quarterfinals of the CMR-VJF inter-media cricket tournament at the Port stadium here on Thursday.

Sakshi defeated Eenadu by four wickets in an exciting match to make the last eight.

The remaining schedule of the tournament has been postponed due to non-availability of grounds and will resume later.

The scores: Deccan Chronicle 160 for seven in 20 overs (S. Shankar 68, Ravishankar 34) bt The New Indian Express 87 in 14.2 overs (Satyanarayana 48, Madhava Rao three for 15, Ravindra three for 17). Man of the Match: S. Shankar.

Eenadu 126 for nine in 20 overs (Suribabu 32, Nawaz four for 21) lost to Sakshi 127 for six in 16.5 overs (Sudheer 66, Gowrinath three for 17). Man of the Match: Sudheer.

Bullayya wins

Dr. L. Bullayya College won the Andhra University inter-collegiate badminton title, beating AU College of Engineering 3-0 in the final.

B.V.K. College claimed the kabaddi title, topping the league table. Dr. L.B. College finished runner-up. Dr. L.B. College moved into the cricket final It will meet PRISM College in Friday’s final.

The results: Badminton semifinals: Dr. L.B. College bt A.U. College of Science and Technology 3-0, A.U. College of Engineering bt A.U. College of Pharmacy 3-1.

Kabaddi league: B.V.K. College bt A.U. College of Science and Technology 46-36, bt A.U. College of Arts and Commerce 36-30, bt Dr. L.B. College 53-28, Dr. L.B. College bt A.U. College of Law 30-25.

Cricket semifinals: SIMS College 100 in 34.5 overs (Kishore 32, Leo three for 12) lost to Dr. L. Bullayya College 101 for seven in 26.1 overs (Leo 29 n.o.).

NAD in final

Sher Singh cracked a century (104, 10x4, 1x6) and also picked up two wickets as his team Naval Armament Depot moved into the final of the Eastern Naval Command Defence civilians cricket tournament with a 61-run win over ENC Headquarters here on Thursday.

The scores: NAD 198 for five in 25 overs (Sher Singh 104) bt ENC Headquarters 137 in 22 overs (H.P. Reddy 31, S.G.K. Reddy 29).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper