Principal Correspondent

HYDERABAD: Jharkhand scored a thrilling, three-wicket win over Tamil Nadu in a fourth round match of the all-India inter-State women’s cricket championship at the Gymkhana Grounds here on Saturday.

Batting first, Tamil Nadu recovered well after being 68 for four at one stage, thanks primarily due to fine batting by V. Vilasini (71, 101b, 11x4). M. D. Thirushkamini (49, 105b, 6x4) and Niranjana (44, 48b, 3x4) batted well down the order. For Jharkhand, Neetu Singh picked four wickets.

In reply, Jharkhand achieved the target with C. Moumita (64, 130b, 5x4) and captain Seema Singh (46, 47b, 4x4) batting with authority when it mattered most.

In another match, Railways defeated Maharashtra by 47 runs.

Sunday is a rest day.

The scores:

Tamil Nadu 208 for nine in 50 overs (V. Vilasini 71, M. D. Thirushkamini 49, Niranjana 44, Neetu Singh four for 33) lost to Jharkhand 209 for seven in 49.3 overs (C. Moumita 64, Seema Singh 46). Points: Jharkhand 4, TN 0.

Mumbai 183 for eight in 50 overs (Poonam Raut 67, G. Ritika 42, Deepali Sharma four for 43) bt U.P. 120 for nine (Sunitha Singh 33, Poonam Raut five for 24). Mumbai 5, U.P. 1.

Hyderabad 165 for nine (Mamata Kanojia 60, Jhulan Goswami three for 34) lost to Bengal 166 for four in 39.4 overs (Arpita Ghosh 30, M. Ananya 30 n.o., Jhulan Goswami 56 n.o.). Bengal 5, Hyderabad 1.

Railways 231 for eight (Sulakshna Naik 78, Mithali Raj 70, Poonam Jaktab three for 37) bt Maharastra 184 in 46.3 overs (Anagha Deshpande 46, D. Sonia 34, Priyanka Roy five for 31). Railways 5, Maharashtra 1.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper