Special Correspondent

Mumbai: Mumbai’s cricketers, who have made a remarkable impression this season, have been amply rewarded. Winning the Ranji Trophy for the 38th time was the ultimate prize.

Before Wasim Jaffer’s team beat Uttar Pradesh in the final on Friday, the under-19 team had won the Cooch Behar Trophy by crushing Punjab. The under-22 team went down to Punjab in the final and the under-16 team lost a close semifinal against Delhi.

From Monday onwards, University of Mumbai will lock horns with SRM, Tamil Nadu, in the final of the Rohinton Baria Cup here.

Dedicated approach

The teams picked by distinguished cricketers, trained by dedicated coaches (Praveen Amre, Satish Samant (u-19), Pradeep Sundaram (u-22), Ravi Kulkarni (u-16) and Vilas Godbole (University)), were provided with match practice and excellent facilities and specialised camps have returned desired results. “

“Mumbai dominated the games right through the season, except for a one-off bad game against Saurashtra at Rajkot,” said Dilip Vengsarkar, former chairman of the Mumbai selection committee and Vice-Preisdent of the association.

On Friday evening, MCA’s joint honorary secretary Hemant Waingankar presented a special bouquet to Jaffer at the Mumbai airport.

The MCA President Sharad Pawar has announced a bonus of Rs. 60 lakh to the team. The Mumbai team will also receive Rs. 60 lakh as prize money from the BCCI for winning the national championship.

Jaffer, who led from the front, had a great run scoring 1260 runs and taking 20 catches in ten matches. The other distinguished performers were Ajinkya Rahane (1089 runs and 10 catches), Rohit Sharma (747 runs, including a century in each innings of the final), Dhawal Kulkarni (42 wickets) and Vinayak Samant (471 runs, 37 catches and 3 stumpings) and Ramesh Powar (34 wickets).

Mumbai fielded in all 21 players in ten matches with Jaffer, Rahane and Samant playing in all ten. Rahane has played two seasons and Kulkarni, one.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper