KURIANOOR: SAI (Thalassery) entered the final in the women’s section of the all-Kerala basketball tournament at the St. Thomas floodit court here on Friday.

In the semifinal, the Thalassery side beat SAI (Thrissur) 46-32. It will meet the winner of the second semifinal between St. Xavier’s (Aluva) and KSEB (Thiruvananthapuram).

In the men’s category, Friends Club (Alappuzha) and Mar Ivanios College (Thiruvananthapuram) reached the semifinals.

The results: Men (quarterfinals): Friends Club, Alappuzha 79 (Sabu 38) bt Town Club (Kurianoor) 71 (Jomon Jose 28, Syam 10).Mar Ivanios College (Thiruvananthapuram) 42 (Albin Baby 10) bt SB College (Changanassery) 27 (Anil 10).

Women (semifinal): SAI (Thalassery) 46 (Thahira 18, Soniya Joy 13) bt SAI (Thrissur) 32 (Stephy Nixon 12, Kavya Sree 10).

Hat-trick by Aravind

Aravind fired in four goals, including a hat-trick, as Bhavan’s Vidya Mandir, Elamakkara, crushed Sree Narayana ‘B’ 5-1 and marched to the final of the first RSC inter-school futsal tournament at the Regional Sports Centre, Kochi, on Saturday.

The Elamakkara school will meet St. Albert’s (Ernakulam) in the final on Saturday afternoon. St. Albert’s beat Sree Narayana ‘A’ 1-0 with Dijin scoring the match-winner.

The results (semifinals): BVM, Elamakkara 5 (Aravind 4 goals, Adarsh P. Pradeep 1) bt Sree Narayana ‘B’, Ernakulam 1 (Anil P. Cyril).

St. Albert’s, Ernakulam 1 (Dijin) bt Sree Narayana ‘A’, Ernakulam 0.

Narrow win

Packers CC defeated RBI by three runs in the Thiruvananthapuram district ‘B’ division cricket league at the Agriculture College ground on Friday.

The scores: Packers CC 136 in 27.3 overs (Anil Kumar 38, A.K. Santosh six for 23) bt RBI 133in 32.2 overs (Ajayan 50, K.R. Sreekumar four for 30, Bineef three for 34).

Cricket tourney

The S. Easwara Iyer Trophy all-Kerala inter-Bar cricket tournament, organised by the Kerala High Court Advocates Association, begins at the Ambedkar Stadium here on Saturday.

The High Court Judge, Justice P.N. Ravindran, will inaugurate the tournament.

SAI scholarships

Kerala’s promising chess players, Ernakulam’s Jude Antony Paul, Suroop Krishna and Thiruvananthapuram’s Anjana Krishna, have been awarded SAI’s sports scholarships.

The scholarships, announced recently, were for their performances in 2006-2007.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper