MADURAI: Rising Sun CC defeated Asian Sports CC by six runs to win the Rising Sun Trophy in the district-level Twenty20 cricket tournament here on Sunday.

The scores: Final: Rising Sun CC 97 in 20 overs (Arun Kumar 26, Karthik three for 26, Mari two for 20) bt Asian Sports CC 91 for nine in 20 overs (Saravanasundareswaran three for 20, Arun Kumar two for 20, Vanamamalai two for 26).

Third place: Majestic CC 61 in 15 overs (Raja 25, Sivaramakrishnan three for 20) lost to Sun Star CC 62 for eight in 18 overs (Mohanraaj Rajadorai three for 18, Sathish two for 26).

Special awards: Best batsman: Velmurugan (Sun Star); Best bowler: Mari (Asian Sports); Best all-rounder: Sivaramakrishnan (Sun Star); Promising youngsters: Parthiban (Oxford) and Francis (Rising Sun); Man of the final: Arun Kumar (Rising Sun).

St. Jude’s bags title

St. Jude’s, with an all-win record in the semifinal league, retained the title in the State-level inter-collegiate five-a-side football tournament, jointly organised by SMB MHSS and Dindigul District Football Association, at Dindigul on Sunday.

St. Joseph’s finished runner-up with two wins, while Sethu secured the third spot with a solitary triumph.

The results (semifinal league): St. Joseph’s bt GTN 3-0; St. Jude’s bt GTN 3-0; Sethu bt GTN 4-2; St. Jude’s bt St. Joseph’s 1-0; St. Joseph’s bt Sethu 3-0; St. Jude’s bt Sethu 2-0.

Easy for Kongu CE

Kongu College of Engineering (Perundurai) got the better of Tamil Nadu College of Engineering 5-2 in a Pool ‘B’ league match in the Tech hockey league for the Major Dhyan Chand Rolling Trophy at Coimbatore on Sunday.

The results: League: Pool ‘B’: Kongu CE (Perundurai) 5 (Nanthakumar 2, Palanivel, Sathish, Ramprasad) bt Tamil Nadu CE 2 (Kumar 2).

Pool ‘D’: Kumaraguru CT 2 (Tausif Ahmed, Pradeep Manoj) bt CIT 0; Kumaraguru CT 4 (Shankar 2, Vinoth, Arun Sathyaseelan) bt VLB Janakiammal CE 0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper