Salem: Host Adhiyamaan Engineering College (Hosur) defeated Sona College of Technology (Salem) 4-3 via tiebreaker and emerged champion of the Anna University zonal-level football tournament for men here on Wednesday. The teams were locked 2-2 at the end of the regulation period.

Earlier, Annai Mathammal Sheela College of Engineering scored a hard fought 3-1 win (via tiebreaker) over V.S.B. Engineering (Karur) and wrested the third spot.

The results: Final: Adhiyamaan CE (Hosur) bt Sona Tech 4-3 (2-2) via tiebreaker. Third place: Annai Mathammal Sheela CE (Namakkal) bt V.S.B EC (Karur) 3-1 (via tiebreaker). Semifinals: Adhiyamaan EC 4 (David 2, Sathish 7, Sivanathan 13, Francis 14) bt Annai Mathammal Sheela 0; Sona Tech 2 (Cosmas 5, Kenchu 9) bt V.S.B 0. Quarterfinals: Annai Mathammal Sheela 2 (Md. Shafan 9, Fairoos 15) bt Nandha 0; Adhiyamaan 2 bt Bannari Amman (Sathy) 1; Sona Tech 2 (Cosmas 5, Kencha 9) bt GCE (Salem) 0; V.S.B 2 bt Varuvan Vadivelan 1.

SNGC survives scare

At Coimbatore, Sree Narayana Guru College of Arts and Science (SNGC) scored a thrilling two-run win over Kongunadu College of Arts and Science in a preliminary match of the SNR Ever Rolling Trophy inter-collegiate cricket tournament at the SNR Sons grounds on Wednesday.

The scores:

Karpagam 141 for seven in 18 overs (Gnanaprakash three for 25) bt Angappa CAS 78 for eight in 18 overs (Sharath three for 11, Kiruba three for 13).

SNGC 126 for eight in 18 overs (Vinod Kumar 48, Rahul 45) bt Kongunadu CAS 124 for nine in 18 overs (Rajith three for 25).

Prasanna, Arun hit centuries

At Udhagamandalam, a fine unbeaten 139 by Prasanna and an equally brilliant 121 by Arun K. Nair enabled Yankees Cricket Club post a 169-run win over Wonder XI Cricket Club in the Canara Bank-NDCA first division cricket league for the K-Lite Trophy recently.

In another match, M. Dharamveer Singh (145 not out & three for 24) and R. Magesh (121 not out) made merry as NCC defeated CFA by 157 runs.

The scores:

Yankees CC 338 for four in 35 overs (Prasanna 139 not out, Arun K. Nair 121) bt Wonder XI 169 (Nanda Kumar 33, Ishwar three for 29).

NCC 304 for two (R. Magesh 121 not out, M. Dharamveer Singh 145 not out) bt CFA 147 (Saravanan 30, Dharamveer Singh three for 24).

All Stars CC 158 (Mehaboob Khan 45, Sandeep three for 22) lost to Colts CC 160 for eight (Ashutosh 61).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper