Saheel Aneez (+50) came through a tough quarterfinal clash against Likhit Kumar (+25) 100-63 in the 36th B.S. Sampath memorial handicap billiards tournament at the KSBA Hall here on Friday.

However, the youngster had to rush to Delhi for an emergency and it will be lucky loser Likhit who will play in the semifinals.

Another youngster Pranav Prabhakar (+25), too, pulled off an upset, defeating Ninad Pise (-100) 100-53.

Only State snooker champion I.H. Manudev has had a good run among the seasoned pros. He beat Ajay Bhushan to reach the last four stage.

The results (quarterfinals): Saheel Aneez (+50) bt Likhit Kumar (+25) 100-63; Pranav Prabhakar (+25) bt Ninad Pise (-100) 100-53; A. Deepak (-250) bt B. Aman (+25) 100-95; I.H. Manudev (-450) bt Ajay Bhushan (-250) 100-(-195).

MSRIT wins

MSRIT defeated NCET 34-14 in the final to win the ‘Revamp 2012' State-level inter-collegiate basketball tournament at the REVA College courts here recently.

Vijay top scored with 10 points as MSRIT claimed its fourth title of the season.

The results: MSRIT 34 (Vijay 10) bt NCET 14.

IAF run continues

IAF continued its winning streak in the Ozone State super division hockey league with a 4-0 victory over Ashish Ballal Hockey Academy (ABHA) at the KSHA stadium here on Friday.

Lovepreet Singh put IAF in front with a second minute strike before M. Topno's brace gave it a handy 3-0 lead at half-time. Sanwar Ali rounded off the tally with a 59th minute goal.

Other results: Army Green 4 (Johnny, Gabriel, Jultan, Bisu) bt Canara Bank 0; ASC 4 (Chandan 2, Tete, Majhi) bt MEG ‘B' 2 (Sajit, Nagaraj).

Double for Savio

Anthony Savio bagged a satisfying ‘double' as the JIRS-AITA Talent Series tennis tournament concluded here on Friday. The Karnataka youngster saw off Assam's Amlanjyoti Baruah in the boys' singles final, winning 7-5, 6-1, before allying with M. Harsha to seal the doubles title too.

Karnataka's S. Soha, meanwhile, emerged the girls' singles champion after getting the better of M. Arithi by a 6-4, 6-1 margin. Nupur Umashankar and C.S. Praneetha prevailed in a marathon final to take the doubles title.

The results (all finals): Boys: Anthony Savio bt Amlanjyoti Baruah 7-5, 6-1. Doubles: Anthony Savio & M. Harsha bt Siddharth & Balaji Lakshmanan 6-2, 6-1. Girls: S. Soha bt M. Arithi 6-4, 6-1. Doubles: Nupur Umashankar & C.S. Praneetha bt Arithi & Sneha Susan 7-5, 5-7, 10-8.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper