Sydney: All-rounder Shane Watson and left-arm fast bowler Mitchell Johnson were named on Wednesday in Australia's 14-man one-day international team to tour South Africa.

Watson is returning to the side after surgery for a shoulder injury sustained during a match against the West Indies in November, while Johnson has been given another chance to impress after playing in the Chappell-Hadlee Series in New Zealand in December.

The team:

Ricky Ponting (capt.), Adam Gilchrist, Nathan Bracken, Michael Clarke, Stuart Clark, Brad Hogg, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Mick Lewis, Damien Martyn, Shane Watson, Andrew Symonds. AFP

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper