NEW DELHI: The Indian Weightlifting Federation (IWF) has named a 14-member team to take part in the Melbourne Commonwealth Games. The selection committee met in Patialia on Wednesday before it selected the lifters for the quadrennial games.

"We have selected only the medal prospects after going through the lifters' performance during the month-long camp at the NIS Patiala," said the IWF General Secretary, Balbir Singh Bhatia.

The IWF had picked 30 lifters after the National championship in Yamuna Nagar for the camp in Patiala.

The team: Men: R. Edwin and Vicky Batta (56kg), M. Arun (62kg), C.P.R. Sudhir Kumar (69kg), Mohammed Zakir (77kg), Tejinder Singh and Satish Rai (85kg).

Women: Kunjarani Devi (48kg), Renu Bala (58kg), B. Prameelavali (63kg), L. Monika Devi (69kg), Shailaja Pujari (75kg), Geeta Rani and Simple Kaur Burmah (plus 75kg).

Coaches: M. Tamil Selvan, Jaswant Singh, Hansa Sharma and K. Amarnadh.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper