Sydney: Karen Rolton was on Monday named as the skipper of a revamped Australian women's cricket squad which will take on India at home in a one-off Test and three one-dayers later this month.

The 13-member squad also has two uncapped players in fast bowler Sarah Andrews and wicket-keeper Jodie Purves.

The 31-year-old Ralton, who succeeds the retired Belinda Clark, was appointed after a meeting of Cricket Australia directors, a CA press release said.

Rolton is also in line to win her fourth Women's International Cricketer of the Year award at the Allan Border Medal presentation tonight.

Cricket Australian Chairman Creagh O'Connor congratulated Karen on becoming Australia's women's cricket captain.

Rolton welcomed the appointment, saying, "this is something I have always dreamed of, and I am honoured to be given the chance to lead women's cricket in Australia."

National chairperson of selectors and former Australian captain Margaret Jennings said the players who were picked "deserved their chance at the national level".

The squad: Karen Rolton (captain), Lisa Sthalekar (vice-captain), Sarah Andrews, Alex Blackwell, Kate Blackwell, Melissa Bulow, Cathryn Fitzpatrick, Michelle Goszko, Julie Hayes, Shelley Nitschke, Kirsten Pike, Jodie Purves and Clea Smith.

The schedule: Test: Feb. 18 to 21 (Adelaide); ODIs: Feb. 25, 26 and 28 (all at Adelaide). PTI

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper