Alappuzha: Thrissur, Thiruvaanthapuram and Kottayam entered the semifinals in the boys' section of the 23rd State Youth basketball championships at the Municipal Maidan here on Thursday. In the girls' section, Kottayam, Thrissur and Kollam made into the last four stage.

The results (quarterfinals): Boys: Thrissur 58 (Arjun Krishna 25, Aswathcahdnranauth 12, Cyril James 9) bt Malappuram 47 (V.Vineeth 15, Adwith Krishnan 13); Thiruvananthapuram 45 (Tinson Eugin 11) bt Pathanamthitta 25 (Jomon Jose 12); Kottayam 55 (Jobin Varghese 22, Basil Philip 11) bt Ernakulam 38 (Jacob Sebastian 18).

Girls: Kottayam 61 (Shija Joseph 25, Sonumol Soman 20, Ashey Mathew 15) bt Alappuzha 42 (Theresa Susan Kuriakose 20, Merlin 9); Thrissur bt Pathanamthitta 20-8; Kollam 49 (P.Ligimol 14, Kenny Susan Lalu 13) bt Thiruvananthapuram 30 (Ligi 18).

Wins for Packers, Golden Wheel

In Thiruvananthapuram, Packers CC and Golden Wheel CC recorded wins in the Canara Bank-TDCA 'D' division cricket league at the Medical College ground on Thursday.

Packers CC defeated Gateway CC by five wickets while Golden Wheel scored a comprehensive 74-run win over State Bank of India.

The scores: Gateway cc 107 in 21.4 overs (Sreekumar five for 24) lost to Packers CC 112 for five in 20.3 overs (Arun 42); Golden Wheel CC 235 for six in 25 overs (Franklin 70, Sudheer 59, Anil 56, Padmanabhan four for 47) bt State Bank of India 161 for eight in 26 overs (Jayaprakash 46).

Junior ranking badminton tournament

The Regional Sports Centre, Kochi, will host an all-India junior ranking badminton championship at the Rajiv Gandhi indoor stadium, Kochi, from June 5 to 10. Events will be held for boys and girls in singles and doubles in the age-groups of under-19, under-16, under-13 and under-10.

A press release from the RSC secretary, George Thomas said the tournament would be the selection tournament for the Indian team to take part in the Asian junior badminton championship in July.

The qualifying rounds will be played on June 5 and 6. Entries close on June 3 with the Secretary, Regional Sports Centre, Kadvanthara, Kochi - 682020.

Sujith nets a brace

Falcons SC thrashed Calicut Youngsters 4-0 in the Videocon Kozhikode District 'A' Division football league in Kozhikode on Thursday. Sujith (two), Rashid and Binu netted the goals.

Later, FC Calciut beat Nellikode Brothers 2-1. Shahil and Sharath scored for the winner, while Sanal was the scorer for Nellikode Brothers.

Javeed to lead U-21 football team

O.K. Javeed (Malappuram) will lead Kerala in the 15th South Zone (under-21) youth football championship to be held in Tirur from April 30 to May 7.

The team: Goalkeepers: C. Praveen, N. Noufal and N.M. Anoop. Defenders: K. Noushad, C.T. Albin, V.P. Suneer, K.M. Vipin, P. Sajesh and D. Sajin. Midfielders: K.P. Sakeer, T.T. Shaji, K. Asif, Andrews and P. Oscar Yesudas. Forwards: L. Sajan, R. Kannan, E.K. Arun, O.K. Javeed, R. Firos and C. Surajudeen. Coach: P.K. Rajeev. Manager: M. Mohammed Saleem.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper