HYDERABAD: Sports Authority of India (STC, Kollam) won the Inter-SAI South Zone women's hockey championship defeating hosts SAI (STC, Secunderabad) 2-0 in the final at Begumpet Police Stadium here on Friday. Forward Indu struck twice in the second session in the 42nd and 62nd minutes for the winners.

In the boys' semifinal, Secunderabad STC recorded a comfortable 5-1 win against Chennai STC with M. Ajay Babu scoring twice, T.N. Sudhir, T. Balagangadhar Tilak, K. Nityajanand once each for the winners while B. Ashwin scored the consolation goal for the losers.

In the other semi-final, Bangalore STC drubbed Pondicherry STC 8-1 with Nanaiah, B. Ashwin and International Raghunath scoring two goals apiece while Viyyappa and Samuel one each. Chella Muthu reduced the margin for the losers.

SAI (STC) in final

SAI (STC) defeated Hyderabad Postal 39-24 moved into the final of the MCH annual kabaddi championship hereon Friday. In the other semifinal, AOC Centre got the better off SCR 45-31.

India `A' wins

India `A' team comprising Narayan, Praveen, Gyanandra Paul, Kaxiyan clocked 3:10.62 to clinch honours in the men's light wet coxless four race of the rowing selection trials conducted by the Rowing Federation of India at Hussain Sagar Lake here.

The trials were completed today and the final team for the Doha Asian Games later this year and other international events will be announced within a day or two.

The results: Light weight men's single scull: 1. Anil Kumar (India B) 3:39.84, 2. Mano Mathew (India), 3. Rajesh Kumar (CERA).

Men's coxless four: 1. India A (Manoj, Gurdarshan, Sukjit, Janeel Krishnan) 3:08.00, 2. India B (Saji, Indrapal, Paramesh, Satish), 3. CERA (Baldev, Faloz, Udamjit, Jagdish).

Light weight men's coxless fours: 1. India A (Narayan, Praveen, Gyanandra Paul, Kaxiyan) 3:10.62, 2. CERA (Karamur, Saravanan, Siju, Anthony), 3. DHR (Surender, Ajit Singh, Himat, Sudhir).

Men's double sculls: 1. India A (Sajiv Thomas / Bajrang) 3:24.23, 2. India B (Sunil Kumar / Prabhat Mishra).

PSPB retains men's title

PSPB retained the men's team title defeating Indian Audit & Account Department 2-1 in the final of the eighth inter-institution national carrom championship being held in Madurai.

In the men's singles event, J. Kumar of All India Electricity Sports Board surprised former world and national champion A. Maria Irudayam of Indian Airlines 18-9, 10-25, 25-10 while V. Sivananda Reddy of Postal shocked Arokia Raj of BSB 17-22, 25-10, 25-16.

The results: Men's team event (Final): PSPB bt IA & AD 2-1 (Sandeep Deorukhkar bt Dilesh Khedekar 25-9, 22-25, 25-22; Ashok Gaur lost to P. Sashidharan 16-25, 5-25; Yogesh Pardesi bt Magesh Devraj 25-5, 25-6).

Women: IA & AD bt LIC 2-1 (D. Swarnalatha bt Shilpa Joshi 10-25, 25-12, 25-20; R. Sharmila bt Bharti Narayan 25-9, 25-12; Rashmi Ranjan lost to S. Appoorwa 14-25, 9-25).

Third place: BSB bt RBI 3-0.

Harshitha in semifinal

Harshitha defeated Madhuri 21-5, 21-8 in the girls under-16 quarter-final of the Hyderabad district badminton championship at Fateh Maidan Indoor Stadium here.

The results (Quarterfinals): Girls Under-16: O.Aditi bt Manisha 21-13, 21-17; Harshitha bt Madhuri 21-5, 21-8; Prakya bt Medha 21-11, 21-7; A.Karuna bt M.E. Ghana 21-11, 21-5.

Under-10: Pooja bt Pranavi 21-4; K.Divya Harsha bt Pragnya 21-17; Hrudaya bt Karuna 21-2; Akshita bt Sai Mounika 21-4.

Boys Under-16: B. Prashanth bt Abhishek 21-7, 21-12; Arjun Reddy bt N.V.S. Vijeta 21-17, 21-11; P. Vijay Kumar bt Nagender 21-17, 21-8; B. Sumith Reddy bt Nitin 21-7, 21-8.

Under-10: Akshay bt Raghava 21-8; K. Aditya bt Suhas 21-14; K.B.R. Saraveen bt K.V.S. Raju 21-10; G.V. Satyanarayana bt M.H. Aruna 21-8.

Ram Mohan shines

A good all-round show by Ram Mohan (five for 40 and 40 runs) helped FCI record a six-wicket win against IDL in the A-Div Institution league cricket championship here.

The scores: A-Div Institution league: IDL 139 (Murali 42, Ram Mohan five for 40) lost to FCI 140 for four (Ram Mohan 40).

A-Division (two-day) league: P and T Colony 146 (Karthik five for 46) drew with Osmania 110 for four (Prasad 48).

Big win for Kurnool

Kurnool recorded a 10-wicket win against Nellore in the AP junior inter-district women's cricket tournament being held in Bhimavaram, according to information received here.

The scores: Nellore 73 for nine lost to Kurnool 77 for no loss (Geetha 43 not out).

Visakhapatnam 42 for nine lost to Hyderabad 43 for no loss.

10K Road Races

Hyderabad District Athletic Association will organise 10K Road Races on July 30 from Lal Bahadur Stadium at 6 a.m. Competitions will be held for men, women and boys and girls in different age groups. Further particulars can be had from on Phone 9246529013 or 23395101.

Bridge tournament

The Maharashtra Mandal will organise a master pairs and pre-dealt boards (round-robin) bridge tournament on July 30 at Ramkoti from 10 a.m. Further details can be had on Phone 9440456777 or 94412 62945.

Cricket indoor camp

Six cricketers from Hyderabad Indoor Cricket Association have been named among the probables from whom the Indian team for the Indoor Cricket World Cup to be held in England in August next year will be picked, according to Vidyuth Jaisimha, chief coordinator of the ML Jaisimha 365 Academy.

CM approves mascot

Chief Minister Dr. Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy approved the mascot `Bheema' for the Chief Minister's Cup State-level sports meet to be held in September this year at Gachibowli Swarnandhra Pradesh Sports Complex.

This was one of the decisions taken at the review meeting convened by him and attended by J.R. Anand, Principal Secretary (YAT & C), G. Kamala Vardhana Rao, SAAP VC & MD, and M.S. Raj Thakur, SAAP chairman.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper