Principal Correspondent

KOCHI: Continuing her dream run, Ernakulam's unseeded Daya Elsa Jacob stunned top-seeded P.C. Thulasi of Thrissur and won the under-16 girls' title at the MAK Lubricants Kerala State sub-junior badminton championship at the Rajiv Gandhi indoor stadium here on Sunday evening.

It was 12-year-old's first victory over Thulasi, the sub-junior India No. 2, in six clashes and her State under-16 crown.

Thiruvananthapuram's H.S. Prannoy staved off a late challenge from Kozhikode's Vishnu Prasad and won his first sub-junior boys' title.

Playing with feather shuttles, Thulasi had emerged as the junior State champion in Wynad last week. But the sub-junior event is being played with plastic shuttles and the Thrissur lass clearly looked uncomfortable.

The results: Boys: Under-16 singles (final): H.S. Prannoy (Tvm) bt Vishnu Prasad (Kzd) 21-7, 24-22. Semifinals: Prannoy bt Neeraj Rehman (Kzd) 18-21, 21-8, 21-19; Vishnu (Kzd) bt M. Sridhin (Kzd) 13-21, 21-6, 22-20. Doubles (final): Vishnu & Neeraj Rahman (Kzd) bt Ranjith & Mingle George (Tsr) 19-21, 21-14, 21-14. Under-13 singles (final): Arun George (Ekm) bt Pranav Satheesh (Ekm) 24-22, 19-21, 21-16. Semifinals: Arun (Ekm) bt Adithya Prakash (Ekm) 21-14, 21-11; Pranav (Ekm) bt V.H. Bharath (Ekm) 21-9, 21-17. Doubles (final): Arun & Pranav (Ekm) bt Adithya & Shyam Prasad (Ekm) 21-16, 16-21, 21-16.

Under-10 (final): S. Bichu (Tvm) bt Adarsh Mahadev (Tvm) 21-16, 21-13. Semifinals: Bichu bt Nikith G. Mathen (Tvm) 21-2, 21-3; Adarsh Mahadevan (Tvm) bt Rohit Victor (Ekm) 21-14, 21-11. Doubles (final): Bichu & Aswanth Dev (Tvm) bt Rohit Victor & Arjun (Ekm) 21-8, 17-21, 21-11.

Girls: Under-16 singles (final): Daya Elsa Jacob (Ekm) bt P.C. Thulasi (Tsr) 21-14, 23-21. Semifinals: Thulasi bt Prija Chandran (Tvm) 21-12, 21-12; Daya Elsa bt Megha Merin Ninan (Ekm) 21-12, 21-9. Doubles (final): Thulasi (Tsr) & Parvathi Suresh (Kzd) bt Daya Elsa & Megha Merin (Ekm) 21-19, 21-5.

Under-13 singles (final): Daya Elsa (Ekm) bt Anagha Unni (Ekm) 21-9, 21-9. Semifinals: Daya Elsa bt K. Anoosha (Kzd) 21-5, 21-9; Anagha bt Arathy Sarasunu 21-11, 21-15. Doubles (final): Arathy Sara Sunil & Anagha Unni (Ekm) bt Boneetha Bose (Ekm) & K. Anoosha (Kzd) 25-23, 21-12.

Under-10 singles (final): S. Renjini (Alp) bt K.P. Sruthi (Kzd) 21-4, 21-6. Semifinals: Renjini bt V.H. Pavithra (Ekm) 21-2, 21-7; K.P. Sruthi (Kzd) bt S. Sruthi (Tvm) 21-17, 21-8. Doubles (final): S. Renjini (Alp) & V.H. Pavithra (Ekm) bt Cynda Percy (Ekm) & K.P. Sruthi (Kzd) 21-15, 21-13.

Masters men (singles): Above 35 (final): Firoz Shah (Tvm) bt Xavier Raphel (Tsr) 21-16, 13-21, 21-19. Doubles (final): Firoz Shah & Suresh (Tvm) bt Xavier Raphel & Davis Sebastian (Tsr) 21-15, 21-8.

Veteran men (singles): Above 45 (final): Abdul Salam (Ekm) bt K.J. Roy (Ekm) 21-18, 19-21, 21-17. Doubles (final): Mendous & Lalmani (Ekm) bt P. George & Johnson (Ekm) 18-21, 21-17, 21-18.

Women: Above 30 (final): Sreelatha Bose (Ekm) bt Sharon George (Pkd) 21-9, 21-11.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper