HYDERABAD: State Bank of India emerged as champion in the A-1 division hockey league championship with 16 points. Youth League finished second with 15 points.

In a league match played on Sunday, Mohammadan Sporting Club scored a 1-0 win over AC Guards Welfare Association at Begumpet Police Stadium. Mohammad Khaleem scored the winner in the 18th minute.

In another match, APSRTC recorded a 4-2 win over Young Turks. Umashanker, Guruswamy (2) and Ashok Kumar scored for the winner.

St. Andrew's wins

St. Andrew's HS defeated Hyderabad Public School (Begumpet) 1-0 to win the Sachdev Sports inter-school football tournament at Trimulgherry Village Grounds here. Right-in Yousuf netted the winner.

Secunderabad Cantonment Board CEO Dr. D. Arockianaghan gave away the prizes. Prem Sachdev of Sachdev Sports, which sponsored the event, promised to lend support for any future camps and tournaments.

Narayana shines

D. Narayana Dass bagged a triple by winning the standard pistol 25m, air piston 10m and the centre rifle pistol 25m events in the seventh State shooting championship at the SAAP ranges here on Sunday.

The results: Trap: Men: 1. Darius Chenoy 44 pts, 2. Gusti Noria, 3. Khuram Ansari.

Juniors: 1. Asher Noria 37. Small bore free rifle prone: 50m: Men: 1. M.V. Prasad 569, 2. G. Naveen Raju, 3. Thrimurthulu. Open sight standard rifle prone 50m: 1. Miyajid Ali Khan 482, 2. Seshagiri. Peep sight air rifle 10m: Men: 1. Arish Verma Reddy 386, 2. K. Vignan Tej, 3. G. Thrimurthulu. Juniors: 1. Shahzad Nizam 359, 2. C. Vijaya Pardhasarathi. Women: 1. M. Snigdha 359, 2. D. Sridevi. Juniors: 1. M. Snigdha 376, 2. Chatainya Naidu. Centre rifle pistol 25m: Men: 1. D. Narayan Dass 273, 2. N. Pedda Babu, 3. A. Shanti Raju. Standard pistol 25m: Men: 1. Narayana Dass 258, 2. N. Pedda Babu, 3. A. Shanti Raju. Air pistol 10m: Men: 1. Narayana Dass 360, 2. N. Pedda Babu, 3. S. Kumar. Sub-junior girls: 1. Narjis Fatima 330, 2. Saba Fatima. Clay pigeon trap shooting: Men: 1. Darius Chenoy 44, 2. Gusti Noria, 3. K.M.A. Ansari. Juniors: 1. Asher Noria 37.

Title for Harathi

G. Harathi of Kasturba Gandhi College won the five km event clocking 21:07.00 in the Osmania University inter-college cross country meet.

The results: Men: 12.5km: 1. B. Vidya Sagar (AV College) 41:03.00, 2. Sai Kiran (Rly Degree), 3. Ramulu (Ambedkar College, Jadcherla). Team championship: 1. AVC, 2. Nizam College, 3. Bhavan's College, Sainikpuri. Women: 5km: 1. G. Harathi 21:07.00, 2. Srilatha (St. Ann's), 3. Soujanya (AVC). Team: 1. St. Ann's, 2. KGC, 3. St. Francis.

Volleyball meet

The 18th Regal Sports inter-school volleyball tournament for the Naresh memorial trophy will be held at Musheerabad Playground from Aug. 21. Nineteen teams split into four groups will vie for the top honours with the group toppers qualifying for the knockout phase.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper