HYDERABAD: Hyderabad Public School (Begumpet) scored a 3-0 win over Government School (Trimulgherry) in a semifinal of the Sachdev Sports inter-schools football tournament here on Friday.

Gautam (twice) and Sravan scored for HPS.

In the other semifinal, St. Andrews High School recorded a 3-1 win over Kendriya Vidyalaya (Picket) with Sandeep, Yousuf and Nitin striking once each for the winner and Pavan reducing the margin for the loser.

Guzzlers wins

Guzzlers scored a 24-run win against Melgiri in the Monsoon Cup cricket tournament here.

The scores: Guzzlers 179 for five (Chaitanya 79 not out, Karthik 57) bt Melgiri 155 for nine.

Capco 155 (Imtiaz 64, Ealvir four for 40, Siva four for 33) lost to Airtel 156 for three (Siva 53 not out).

Goodwill Cup: Adarsh 154 for three (Kiran 46, Prashanth 41) bt Cistron 149 for seven.

Spoorthy 87 for six bt Pharma Plus 60 (Kishore four for 13).

Sambhavi in last four

Sambhavi Dixit blanked Sahiti Krishna 6-0 in the girls' under-10 quarterfinals of the YMCA Independence Cup mini and sub-junior tennis tournament.

The results: Girls: Under-10: Sambhavi Dixit bt Sahiti Krishna 6-0; Sai Karishma bt Ananya Mahapatra 6-4; Padmata Sneha bt Moulika Ram 6-3; M. Saranya Shivani Varma bt Rishani Reddy 6-0. Under-12: Surya Tejaswini bt D. Vennela 6-0; M. Saranya Shivani Varma bt Moulika Ram 6-0; K. Bhuvana Reddy bt Bhavana Priyanka 6-1; Sambhavi Dixit bt V. Srija Reddy 6-3. Under-14: K. Bhuvana Reddy bt Surya Tejaswini 6-3; Sambhavi Dixit bt Bhavana Priyanka 6-2; M. Saranya Shivani Varma bt Sindhu Shah 6-4; V.M. Leena Reddy bt A. Tanmaiyee 6-0.

Boys: Under-10: P. Sree Dutt bt Akshat Shyam 6-4; A. Uday Shanker bt Sai Praneeth Reddy 6-3; P. Ashish Rao bt Ahmed Mohinuddin 6-2; Y. Anutej bt Taha Kapadia 6-4. Under-12: Abhinav Macedo bt M.S. Rajasekhar Reddy 6-2; Y. Akhil Reddy bt S. Rohit 6-4; B. Supreeth bt A.K. Parthasarathi 6-1; Y. Anutej w/o Surya Pawan. Under-14: Eashwar Shrawan bt P.Ashish Rao 6-4; Surya Pawan bt V. Akhil 6-1; B. Supreeth bt B. Ajay 6-0; Rohit Sarwate bt Vamsidhar 6-1.

SBI beats MSC

State Bank of India defeated Mohammadan Sporting Club 4-1 in the A-1 Division hockey league championship at Begumpet Police Stadium. Harinath Reddy put SBI ahead in the 14th minute and Nagaraj made it 2-0 in the 28th minute. Though Kareem Nadeem reduced the margin for Sporting in the 28th minute, SBI struck twice more through Surender Singh and Sanjay Kumar to clinch the issue.

B-Division volleyball

The B-Division volleyball league championship for men will be held from August 28. Entries close on August 22. Contact: Phone No. 93910 42726.

CM's gesture

The Chief Minister Y.S. Rajasekhara Reddy presented two laptops to the chess players Tejaswini Reddy and Chandana Priya Reddy. Kausalya Reddy, the proud mother, thanked the Government, Sports Authority of Andhra Pradesh VC & MD G. Kamala Vardhana Rao for promoting the cause of the talented youngsters.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper