CHENNAI: Gaurav Gill (Delhi) of Team Wallace Sports stole the thunder in the premium Formula Rolon category by taking double pole on the qualifying day for the third leg of the JK Tyre National racing championship at the MMST Track in Irrungattukottai Track, Sriperambudur on Saturday. Gill timed the fastest lap of 01:54:974 in Race 1. Gaurav Dalal (Team Prime Racing) and Akbar Ebrahim (Team Speed NK Racing) came second and third respectively.

Ashwin Sunder of Team Meco was back in form as he qualified for pole positions in both the races for the Formula LGB Swift category. Ashwin timed the fastest laps of 01:58:34 and 01:59:46 respectively. The championship leader Saran Vikram of Team Wallace Sports had to settle for the second place in the grid for both races.

In the Formula LGB Hyundai category it was double pole for Team Meco with Rayomand Banajee taking the pole for Race 1 with the fastest lap timing of 02:00:865. In Race 2 Ashwin Sunder finished with fastest lap but was relegated three places down following a technical infringement resulting in Banajee being elevated to pole position. The new formula racing cars are making their maiden appearance in Chennai after two rounds in Coimbatore. Sports Reporter

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper