Special Correspondent

Mumbai: All the six full members from West Zone in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Mumbai, Maharashtra, Cricket Club of India (CCI), Saurashtra, Baroda and Gujarat are backing incumbent Sharad Pawar for the post of the President of the BCCI for an uninterrupted period of two years.

"All six members are together. There is no question of election to the president's post at the BCCI's AGM," said Narhari Amin, President, Gujarat Cricket Association. The BCCI's 77th AGM and election will be held here at the CCI on September 27 and 28.

The Union Agriculture Minister and President, Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA), Mr. Pawar, lost to Haryana's Ranbir Singh Mahendra by one vote two years ago in Kolkata, but won by a comfortable margin last year in Kolkata in November 2005.

BCCI amendment

Following Mr. Pawar's public statement after last year's election that the principal office-bearers of the BCCI must receive a mandate for more than one year, the BCCI amended certain clauses of its constitution at a special general body meeting here on June 1 which changed the terms of office from one to two years.

Meanwhile, former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar has accepted a proposal by the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) to succeed Kiran More in the Senior National Selection Committee from West Zone.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper