Sports Correspondent

Nagercoil: Andhra Pradesh drew with Tamil Nadu 1-1 in the inaugural match of the South Zone (National) sub-junior football championship, organised by Kanyakumari District Football Association, at Anna Stadium on Friday.

Tamil Nadu, which had the better of the exchanges, went into the lead in the 21st minute, when Striker Reegan surprised Andhra goalkeeper Aagi Naidu with a powerful long range shot from near the top of the box.

Andhra Pradesh found the equaliser in the 46th minute, when Rafeeq, who sped on the right flank to the corner and sent a fine cross that flew past Tamil Nadu goalkeeper Rajesh.

Madura takes honours

Madura College, Madurai won the title defeating G.T.N. Arts College, Dindigul 29-28, 29-16 in the final of the Madurai Kamaraj University `B' zone inter-collegiate ball badminton tournament at Bodinyackanur on Thursday.

Senthil scalps five

Senthil's five for 47 helped SPIC CC tie with Young Star CC in the TDCA second division league at Tuticorin recently.

The scores: First division: Power CC 145 for six in 45 overs (Rajasekaer 61, Ashok 50) bt Gavaskar CC 84 in 18.2 overs (Raju 36).

Second division: SPIC CC 197 in 31.1 overs (Senthil 42, Manivannan 38) tied with Young Star CC 197 in 39.4 overs (Senthil five for 47).

Third division: TRC CC `A' 166 in 39.4 overs (Manoj 56, Ramki four for 22) lost to Seconds CC `B' 170 for nine in 24.2 overs (Velmurugan 54, Karthik Kumaran 41 not out).

SMGC regains title

Sri Meenakshi Government College for women regained the Yadav Rathna S. Gopalakrishna Yadav Memorial Trophy defeating SFR College, Sivakasi 15-13 in the final of the Madurai Kamaraj University inter-collegiate women's kho-kho tournament at the University ground on Friday.

The results: Semifinals: SMGC bt EMG Yadava women's College 13-1; SFR bt Lady Doak College, Madurai 11-10.

Thigarajar CE wins

Thiagarajar College of Engineering, Madurai won the title with an all-win record in the three-team league of Anna University Zone-10 inter-engineering women's ball badminton tournament at Karaikudi on Friday.

The results (league): TCE, Madurai bt PSNAEC, Dindigul 29-9, 29-12; bt ACCET, Karaikudi 29-16, 29-19. ACCET bt PSNA 29-6, 29-9.

Raju's College triumphs

Raju's College, Rajapalayam beat American College, Madurai 29-14, 17-29, 29-14 for the title in the final of the Madurai Kamaraj University 'A' zone inter-collegiate ball badminton tournament at Virudhunagar on Friday.

Muthuraj shines

R. Muthuraj of Government College of Engineering, Tirunelveli won two gold and two silver medals in the Anna University zone-10 inter-engineering athletics meet at the National Engineering College ground in Kovilpatti on Friday.

The results: Men: 800m: 1. M. Issac Robinson (Dr SACE) 2:13.40s; 2. S.B. Arunkumar (KCET), 3. J. Vasanth (NEC); 1500m: 1. M. Ramachandran (PSNCET), 2. Balamanikandan (Scad), 3. Viru (Pon Jesley); 10,000m: 1. Balamanikandan (Scad) 39:22.0s, 2. M. Arun Sudarmani (Infant Jesus), 3. M. Ramachandran; 20km walk: 1. S. Ramar (Dr SACE) 2:32.59s, 2. Ariharan (Dr SACE), 3. Shanmugavel (AKCE); 400m hurdles: 1. S. Selvakumar (AKCE) 1:05.5s; 2. R. Muthuraj (GCE), 3. S.B. Arunkumar (Kamaraj); 110m hurdles: 1. R. Muthuraj (GCE) 18.10s, 2. S. Selvakumar, 3. K. Deepan (Mepco); High jump: 1. P. Balasubramaniaraj (JACSI) 1.69m, 2. M. Vinoth Kumar (Mepco), 3. T. Krishnakumar (Kamaraj); Long jump: 1. R. Muthuraj 5.92m, 2. Rameez Faisal (St. Xaviers), 3. Venkatesh (FX); Triple jump: 1. S. Prakash (NEC) 12.38m, 2. R. Muthuraj, 3. Rameez Faisal (St. Xaviers).

Benny nets winner

A goal scored by striker John Benny in the 27th minute helped Don Bosco Football club defeat Nehru Football club 1-0 in the MDFA `A' division league for Hi-Tech Arai Trophy at the Madura College ground on Friday.

St. Xavier's in final

The final of the Manonmaniam Sundaranar University inter-collegiate basketball tournament will be a repeat of last year's final between defending champion St. Xavier's College, Palayamkottai and Scott Christian College, Nagercoil.

The results (semifinals): Scott Christian College 60 (Antony 19, Jebarson 19) bt VOC College 38 (Rajesh17); St. Xavier's College 74 (Socretis 25, Deepan 24, Prabhu 16) bt M.D.T. Hindu College 63 (Pakiri 25).

Trophy shared

City III and Districts I shared the TNCA under-17 trophy, after the second day of the final at the SRMC ground could not be played because of inclement weather.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper